Minimalism → Gratitude → Happiness

Could this be the secret formula?

ikigai_chi
Ascent Publication
3 min readJun 8, 2018

--

“Gratitude brings freedom from envy, because when you’re grateful for what you have, you’re not consumed with wanting something different or something more. That, in turn, makes it easier to live within your means and also to be generous to others.” — Gretchen Rubin, The Happiness Project

If minimalism is about consuming less, paring down, reducing clutter and minimising distractions in order to simplify, find value, focus on the important things and reduce stress then let us not forget that by focusing on the core of minimalism we find gratitude.

Though the author Gretchen Rubin was not writing about minimalism, her book is about finding happiness, I found her words resounded gracefully with the philosophy of minimalism. Or was it my personal experience with minimalism that helped me make the link between minimalism, gratitude and happiness?

For sure, a great starting point with minimalism is to start by removing all excess from your life be it physical possessions, mental stress, digital clutter, waste, or relationships. This is where the connection begins, do you notice that as you are ridding yourself of stuff you ask yourself “does this offer me value”, “do I need this”, “who can find a better use for this”, before you decide that to do with the item, person or thought?

Once you are not consumed by everything and your mind is freed from the mental drag, do you find that you begin to notice how grateful you are with what little you need in order to have a normal life, do you notice how you are grateful for the few essential items you need, or how grateful you are that you didn't need that person holding you back?

Not only was I tossing things out that I did not need but I became much more aware and grateful for the things I did have and the people that I have in my life. The surprising outcome of minimising was the sense of gratitude and in time the lightness felt turned into a feeling of happiness.

The happiness came from no longer being consumed by possessions, freedom from being held back, less distraction from the unessentials and the feeling of discovery.

I don’t keep a gratitude journal or anything similar because as I was clearing things away and people from my life I just accepted what I was grateful for as the process went on:

  • For actually having excess things to get rid of (lots of old smartphones, a few old laptops, lots of unworn clothes etc.)
  • So much space under my roof
  • Being able to forget ex work colleagues or acquaintances from previous jobs as they offered nothing to my future
  • Even having the time to slowly go through all my possessions and clear my digital media
  • The support from my family as I explore minimalism, something they have never heard of or understand
  • Able to quit my job and still be able to live within my means and concentrate on personal growth
  • No current health issues, to be alive!
  • Noticed that by following minimalism I was for the first time “living in the moment”
  • The ability to buy replacements for the things that were donated or thrown out
  • Not having to worry about letting go.

--

--

ikigai_chi
Ascent Publication

a husband and daddy! 😍👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 civil engineer 👷 on a journey🌏 #minimalist #trader #investor