Motivation Is Temporary. Here’s How to Do Work Without It.

You don’t need motivation to get things done; all you need is a reliable system.

Corey Fradin
Ascent Publication

--

Motivation is the sugar-rush of your desires. It is exciting, energizing, and oh-so-yummy… until you get a stomach ache and need to take a nap. It’s short-lived, short-term, temporary. It is not to be counted on for any real results or efforts.

It’s a lie that you need it in order to get things done.

You don’t need motivation to work in the same way you don’t need chocolate to live. It’s just the candy companies trying to spread Halloween-cheer. Trying to make a buck.

Here’s a little story to illustrate my point…

It’s Not Something I Jump Out of Bed For

Four days a week, I do a strengthening exercise known as a kettlebell row. If you’re not familiar with it, you use a kettlebell, and, well… you can Google it if you’re curious.

All that you need to know is that I do kettlebell rows. Four days a week. 50 reps per arm. With a ten-pound kettlebell.

And I’ll tell you what, I am never motivated to do them. Not once have I woken up in the morning and said oh boy, I can’t wait to do my rows today! That’s never happened…

--

--