My most recent challenging learning experience

Kenneth Aladi
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readSep 25, 2017

--

Learning has become a cannot-do-without in life especially in this 21st Century. Many have used different ways to adapt to everyday learning. Mine is not an exception but I would like to give an insight on my most recent learning experience that was so challenging.

I started learning how to code professionally early this year. At first I thought it was one of those types of learning where you just watch one video and you are good to go. I went to YouTube and downloaded a video on website development, I took out time to watch that video and after watching it I was like what the heck is this man talking about? First he started with using just Notepad, after-which he entered Notepad++, which I downloaded, then he went on to talk about Emment as a plugin. I became confused at that point, I still tried to follow him, but then he started talking about HTML, CSS and JAVASCRIPT as different ways of creating a website. I was trying to follow him in HTML then he moved from Tags to Class and even Id’s. I was really getting confused here then he entered CSS and that was the worst. I had to download another YouTube video and unknown to me I then downloaded a Python Programming video and I was really overwhelmed.

I was like what is this, just like the picture by the left. How can one person know all this? I decided that I am not going through with this again and that I was going to quit. Then I became friends with the web developer where I work and I told him about my experience in web development and he laughed and told me it’s always like that. I asked “does it mean you also faced the same too??” and guess what he told me? In his very own words he said, “technology is not all about how many things you can do but actually how good you are in you area”.

He said that some are very good in web design, some in web development, some others in back-end development and then one can move from learning one to another.

Then I started learning HTML and after I had mastered it, I went over to CSS and others followed. It hasn’t really been easy but I am determined to go all the way to became a full developer someday.

“Learning is a Progressive Process, from what we know to what we don’t know and then if we are welling to learn, then what we don’t know becomes what we have known.” by Kenneth.

--

--

Kenneth Aladi
Ascent Publication

I have a strong enthusiasm for working and collaborating with others, Strong desire to learn and am also open to suggestions, advice and guidance.