My Overly Simple Rules for a Good Life

9 rules to live by so you outperform in life.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readNov 19, 2020

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Rules provide constraints in your life. Constraints help you focus. Focus provides clarity. Clarity helps you take badass actions.

So, I have created these rules in my life. They will inspire you to create a few for yourself.

Be Quiet Most of the Time

There is a lot of noisy attention-seeking. Gain massive attention and then have it taken away. This has happened to me. It taught me that fame and attention is a nightmare.

Be quiet more than you talk. When you do talk, make it worth it. Talk for a small few. Take to 1000 small fans.

Don’t be a Donald (Duck)…. quack, quack, quack, quack. Me, me, me, me.

Quietness is old school self-help.

Read A Lot

Measure the days you have left in the number of books you can read.

Books force you to imagine the images. Movies rob you of that gift. Movies are the heavily curated, edited version of a story. The book is the full story. The book is always better than the movie.

Read a lot to learn through other people’s stories. It’s easier than learning the hard way through failure.

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb