My Recent Adventures in Screenplay Writing

My baby steps into a new genre and art form.

Steve B Howard NOVELIST
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

I’m a very fortunate newbie to the screenwriting world. A good friend of mine who is sort of a fan of my short stories and novels and a very experienced screenplay writer with credentials to back it up has taken me under his wing. So far we have co-written two and a half screenplays together, one based on a novella I wrote, a comedy, and the current one we are working on.

I’ve been writing short stories and trying to publish them since 1997. I started writing my first novel in 2000 and began sending off query letters to literary agents and publishers for it in 2003. While I was never able to get that first one published I did write four more, one which was published. The other four are in various states of editing/launching limbo right now.

I’ve always loved movies. Longer than I’ve been writing actually, but I never really considered writing a screenplay. In fact, before my friend approached me last year with the idea of turning some of my work into screenplays I had only ever read one screenplay written by an old friend of mine in the late 90’s who knew I was writing and attempting to publish short stories.

Unfortunately, I didn’t know enough about screenplays to know how to critique it. I approached it the same way I…

--

--