My Thoughts On Life and its Significance

Insights on what life means to me…

William Lehutjo
Ascent Publication
3 min readOct 3, 2018

--

I have continuously encountered how good writing involves a mixture of vulnerability and authenticity. This is not easy to cultivate but staying true to your truth is crucial.

My Vulnerability

I have shared pieces of myself with the Medium community since joining the platform. I have talked about my challenges with weight, emotions, faith and state of mind. I have allowed strangers into my life.

I have allowed YOU into my life.

At times this felt wrong but other times liberating. The feeling of being able to share my burdens and life challenges and lessons is like no other.

I will admit, every time I wrote a piece which revealed something about my life not many people know about, my heart would pound intensely when pushing ‘publish.’

Sharing myself with the world has never been something I’m used to.

The Medium platform is amazing to say the least. I have read pieces that inspired me to push this writing passion I have, and to slowly but surely let go of the fear of criticism and judgment from the world.

The Internet can be a pretty cruel place folks.

Writing taught me lessons I never anticipated I would learn in this lifetime. I have cultivated certain disciplines of the mind and heart.

I have learnt what hard work really is, by committing certain hours of my days of the week to writing. I prioritised my passion.

I prioritised writing.

I prioritised making an impact over ‘instantly gratifying' activities.

I prioritised YOU.

Life Lesson From A Decades Old TV Show

A while back someone told me something very profound. There is an American television show called The Bold and The Beautiful. This show has been airing all around the world for decades now.

In this show the same thing happens over and over again to and with the same main characters :Something bad happens, people fight, after a while they forgive one another and the cycle repeats.

Significantly the character named Brooke Logan has been married to Ridge Forster a dozen times over( not sure exactly how many times).

This person said, “ even if you don’t watch this show for years, you’ll still find it the same way you left it after a while.”

I took it lightly at the time but somehow it stuck with me.

There are hundreds and hundreds of movies and TV series' released out every year, each one aiming to be better than the other.

There is always the next best thing and the “better next thing.”

Why is It…..?

Why is it that you sacrifice crucial time and dedicate it to watching hours of TV as opposed to doing the work that matters?

Why is it that you don’t realise leaving an impact is more significant than boasting to your friends about a movie that was a box office hit.

Why is it that you don’t realise next year the movie you are boasting about will be oblivious when a better one is released.

Ponder on that for a minute and let me know your thoughts in the comments section?

Einstein said time is a stubborn illusion. Many successful individuals say time is significant to living a better life.

A mixture of those views should compel you to use it wisely.

Thank you for reading. I appreciate the love and support.

--

--

William Lehutjo
Ascent Publication

Love discovering new things | Hoping to inspire people to change their mindsets to experience extraordinary success