“My Will” or “Thy Will”?

Nancy Churchill
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2018

When we begin or renew our relationship with our Higher Power we often struggle with doubt. How do I discover the difference between “my will” and “Thy Will”?

I’ve lost painful days, months, and years trying to figure things out on my own. I didn’t even know that I could ask for guidance, and get it. I didn’t know that Source is broadcasting all the time. The guidance is there, but I have to learn to tune into it.

I’ve discovered that listening to my Higher Power is a skill. If I want it to become easier, then I must practice every day. It’s a craft that I choose to study. It’s a muscle that can become flabby and weak if I don’t exercise it.

I’ve learned that my emotions can be used as a type of tuning system. I can use them to tune into the frequency of Source Energy. My positive emotions tell me that I’m coming into alignment. Source is pure positive energy. Serenity, happiness, joy and love tell me I’m seeing things the way Source sees them.

When I’m angry, disappointed, or resentful then I know that I am holding onto a different opinion that Source holds about that situation. My negative emotions are the clue that I’m going in the wrong direction. Any decision that I make while feeling these emotions is likely to be “my will”.

Every morning is a new opportunity to make sure that I tune into Source Radio. I want to get up on the right side of the bed, so I start my day with thoughts of gratitude and prayers for guidance. Before long, I can’t wait to get my day going. I tuned into Source and it’s going to be a great day!

--

--

Nancy Churchill
Ascent Publication

Writer, CoDependent, and Fellow Traveler. Student of the Twelve Steps and the Law of Attraction. I’m on Instagram at “paradeofgood” and “nancydchurchill”.