Navigating Political Conversations in the Office

How can we know what is OK to say to coworkers, and what isn’t?

Sonya Jackson
Ascent Publication
5 min readDec 7, 2018

--

Let’s face it: politics are ever-present in our lives. No matter how hard we try to avoid them, political conversations are happening everywhere, including in the workplace.

Now, and arguably more than ever, politics are top-of-mind for a lot of us. And, while workplace conversations about current events are expected, and should be encouraged, our constant connection to media means a firehose of breaking news and headlines. This may create a complicated working environment which can be a minefield for employees, particularly when opinions and emotions run high.

I spent more than twenty-five years working for large, well-known companies, and as an African-American woman, I’ve been asked more than once, “what does the black community think about (fill in the political issue)?” And, while it is frustrating to constantly be put into the role of educator on all things African-American, it is important to approach those situations with grace and mercy. That’s what I was taught.

So, what are the boundaries of political expression in the workplace? How can we know what is OK to say to coworkers, and what isn’t?

This is a hard question to ask because it’s not something we can (or should) test on our coworkers, particularly since even a slight misstep can push you into an “extended vacation.”

The best way, I’ve found, is to remember three things: learn, think, wait.

First, learn and understand your company’s policies about political discussions. Are there policies in place that ban discussing politics? Most companies have rules about harassment and a code of conduct.

It’s important to consider whether your comments, questions or opinions, could be misconstrued as harassment, bullying, or intimidation.

Second, freedom of speech is your constitutional right, however, most people aren’t aware it DOES NOT apply in most workplaces.

The First Amendment protects you from the government when you say something outrageous, but your employer can sever your employment for saying something (anything) inappropriate.

Third, harassment and discrimination policies can be easily violated during heated political discussions. Another important reason to tread lightly.

The best way to survive political discussions in this hyper-charged climate is by playing the long game. At different times in my life and career, I have had to bite my tongue and not comment. That’s a walk people who are marginalized often take.

Roman author, Publilius Syrus, said: “I have often regretted my speech, but never my silence.”

Every company sets its own tone for culture and ethos.

Some companies, often unbeknownst to themselves, have racist and discriminatory cultures. This is amplified when the company supports views that align with those things.

Take, for example, the monetary donations and support for Mississippi’s newly elected Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith. After her comments on public lynchings were publicized, many companies withdrew their support and requested their money back. Others, like the owner of the Giants, made a donation after the fact.

These types of actions, while seemingly small, can erode company culture and employees’ confidence in their employer.

As the person who led global reputation and contribution for several large companies, I felt a strong responsibility to align the company’s social investments with activities that did not fuel these kinds of concerns.

I’m curious how corporate contributions to Senator Hyde’s campaign slipped through the corporate cracks and wonder if there was oversight on donations.

Discussing politics with close friends is my usual default, however admittedly I have engaged in conversations when I was unable to opt out.

Several years ago I was invited to a private coffee with a corporate CEO at a different company from the one at which I worked.

As it turned out, the CEO’s only agenda item was that he wanted to share his belief that President Obama should not have mentioned Trayvon Martin’s name during a speech in the Rose Garden.

He was particularly upset the President said, “If I had a son, he’d look like Trayvon.”

I listened and let him unpack his concerns, all the while wondering how I managed to land in the position of hearing his diatribe.

When he finally asked my opinion, I reminded him of the pressure (somewhat ironically) that had been placed on President Obama to comment on the matter.

I also spoke with specificity about the inherent racism present in many of our institutions, including the criminal justice system. And, I shared my opinion that there was no path forward that involved the President not commenting.

I asked why he hadn’t had the discussion with someone inside the company he led. It was clear he had the discussion with me because he perceived me as “safe.”

With me, there were no stakes on the table, no fear of retribution and no threat of being called out for creating a hostile work environment because of his opinion.

That CEO needed to reach out to someone outside of his organization in order to discuss his opinion.

This speaks to much broader issues about having difficult conversations about race.

I appreciate that he respected my opinion to open the conversation. And, while I would not have chosen that conversation, I felt comfortable presenting a different perspective, and I’m sure he chose me for the conversation because he suspected my opinion would differ from his own.

In the moment, I followed my three points: learn, think, and wait.

Did I change his mind? Probably not, but at no point during the conversation was that my goal. I appreciate the man’s decision to attempt to learn from me, and I’m glad he selected a private and safe place for the conversation.

A survey conducted by the American Psychological Association on politics in the workplace found that at least 1 in 10 American workers have experienced stress from recent political discussions at work.

Some people have reported being more cynical and less productive at work. Others have said their work quality has suffered.

How we manage difficult conversations is as important as the conversations themselves.

Don’t initiate political conversations and when politics do come up, take a deep breath, listen intently and move on.

Learning to manage your emotions is tantamount to preserving your sanity and managing your career. Just because you have an opinion doesn’t mean you have to jump into the fray.

Always remember: “But far more numerous was the herd of such, who think too little, and who talk too much.” (John Dryden)

Thanks for reading. :) I’m Sonya Jackson, Founder of Mantra for Good and Managing Director at Anonymous.

Let me know what you thought about my article below! Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn or Twitter to learn more.

--

--

Sonya Jackson
Ascent Publication

Founder of Mantra for Good | Managing Director at Anonymous | Writer, Filmmaker, Connector. Everyone has a superpower. Mine is helping others find theirs.