How a random stranger gave me the ultimate advice for life in 3 words

Khiem Pham
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2018

Daily blog issue #(What is the number? Aww screw it anyway).

“When the student is ready the teacher will appear.”

I t was a strange lonely morning again in the city of Sài Gòn. I was gliding from every street corner, through the Nguyễn Huệ boulevard. Glorious sunshine’s beaming through every window.

At least, tomorrow is not quite dark as I think…

I feel refresh with full of enjoyment. During that regards, perhaps when you are least expected to outcome and things is when life will give you a random answer.

The perfect moment was set and the answer is struck right down to the Earth, I am glad to meet the middle man at Tao Đàn Park. It was a lovely experience.

D oing my most usual work-out as daily ever. Been quite a few years since I headed myself down to this venerable park sitting uniquely the busy center of Sài Gòn.

Here I go, I am about to meet the man who gives insightful thought that can change the whole course of my life. It was a random encounter. Conversely, it was fun talking to him. However, I really did not think he would give every little answer to my queries. Right beneath my subconsious mind, I have been thinking about:

  • How I would think about motivation tank?
  • How I would think about my limit?
  • How I would define my goal?
  • How do I go beyond?

We talked about daily life.

We talked about failure.

We talked about being faltered in our steps.

We talked about the lack of confidence issue.

Yet…

Until the only moment when I paused and asked him:

A: How do I really set my goal? Where do I start?

B: You have to set everything from here *pointing at his heart area*. You have get a very clear distinction about “What you want?” and “What you really really want?”.

A: What do you mean by that?

B: People is often get conditioned by our parents, by our stereotypes, by society, by friend’s influence. Chasing instant gratification is fine but you will have to seek harmony between your mind and your heart. Follow it.

It was pretty short and reflective. During that, I did not just get an A-ha moment, it was like an Oh-Shit moment that I did not think it through before.

All those years went by, I did not really follow what I wanted:

  • I went to study in the major that I hated, in the university that I hated too. I suffered for that consequence.
  • I went to befriend with some kind ‘ladies and gentlemen’. Turned out, it was all fake. I got backstabbed for it. I suffered for that consequence.
  • I went to work in the job I did not really put my heart in, waiting for time to sink in and to the paycheck day. I suffered for that consequence.

I t is the BIGGEST conclusion ever made for me, that I wasn’t really follow what my heart told me to do so. I ignored all of that and that is where the suffering came for. I realized that all he ever talked about is only one dearly simple advice I have ever seen in my life.

“Follow your heart”.

I took that into my heart case and locked it in right there. Something I would never forget.

Because, Passion is meant to be pursued.

At all cost.

From that moment, I know at least.

“Pain is a given, but suffering is a choice”.

--

--