No, Everyone Is Not Responsible for Your Happiness

Your happiness is not the responsibility of others.

Elle Scott
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by bruce mars from Pexels

Dead and alive at thirteen, bullied in grade school, too short, empty pockets, and very emo as a kid — sounds like a really sad start to a tragic life story, or better yet, an upcoming Netflix original. That would be cool, but my young life is definitely not being turned into a hashtag anytime soon.

However, my young life isn’t as bad as it reads. I mean, shit, a lot of people have been shot, bullied, robbed of perfect genetic material, and so on. Life isn’t perfect, but I haven’t always felt this way.

It wasn’t until my late twenties when I realized life wasn’t going to be perfect for me. Hell, life wasn’t perfect for anyone. Instead of repeated attempts at taking my own life, I decided to take responsibility for my happiness in life. I evaluated my shitstorm of a life I’d lived up until a certain point. No, getting shot was not my fault but it saved my life. Getting beat up sucked but it taught me how to defend myself better. Being short is just the hand I was dealt with. And not being wealthy is totally my parents' fault. I’m totally blaming that on them.

I’ve never really been the type of person that believes in excuses or passing the blame. Owning my faults and learning from the has taught me…

--

--

Elle Scott
Ascent Publication

New Writer. Learning how to better my skills doing what I love.