Not Reading Fiction is Causing the Death of Humans and Humanity

It sounds like hyperbole, but it’s not — and it’s tragic.

Dawn Bevier
Ascent Publication

--

Image by Free- Photos on Pixabay

Reading fiction is a dying sport. And I fear for our world as a result.

And ironically, my fears have nothing to do with an academic decline or a lack of future success in the business or professional world. Quite simply, reading fiction makes us better people. And not being better people will do much more damage than a lost job or a lack of academic opportunities. It may be the reason for the end of our world itself (no hyperbole intended).

And thus I make this claim: that wars, racism, sexism, homophobia, suicide, and a host of other tragic situations could be lessened (if not eradicated) by reading more fiction.

As a matter of fact, this is why I became an English teacher. (Writers, you may not want to read the following few sentences as they may greatly disturb you). Run-ons? I could care less. Spelling and subject-verb agreement? Not on my mind. Yes, I teach these things, but the real reason I became a teacher is that I wanted to show young people the power of books.

And what exactly are the superpowers that fiction holds for our society? Let me explain.

--

--

Dawn Bevier
Ascent Publication

I am a teacher, thinker, learner, and writer. You can reach me at dawn.bevier@yahoo.com