Photo by James Cousins

Why I don’t like Optimism.

Abhed Manocha
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readApr 27, 2018

--

It has happened to me many times. I’ll be walking down the street, deep in thought as I mentally project myself into the future: How will I handle the exam next week? What do I need to do to make sure tomorrow’s dinner party goes smoothly? Will the paper I’m about to turn in be received well, or should I revise it once more? My friend next to me will notice me and say, “ Let it go, Smile”.

My usual reaction is to scowl. I’m as happy as the next person. But I don’t like being commanded to be positive — all the time and no matter the circumstances. Sometimes, smiles just aren’t what a situation demands.

For the past few years, optimism has developed a cult following. Everyone around me is advising me to stay positive, then only will I be happy. Doctors inform us that optimism improves our health and helps us live longer, reduces the risk of stroke, even. Corporate coaches advise us that optimistic employees earn more money and climb the career ladder more quickly. It’s gotten to a point that I feel pressure to think and talk in an optimistic way.

Optimism leaves the door open for a possibility, but without that dash of pessimism, we might be stuck on the couch just waiting for money to stuff our mailboxes. That dash of pessimism is that tiny voice that says “yes, you can sit on the couch and hope for money to fill your mailbox, or you can make a plan and go out and earn your empire”; work required. Too much optimism can also be costly in situations where the risk and stakes are high.

Optimists hit the ground hard when things go awfully wrong. Their optimism only last as long as they can pretend and have the will to pretend things will get fine. When the reality that things may not get better hits them. They seem to hit this downward spiral. Whereas pessimists usually believe that everything’s going to shit. But when things go in favor of them, there is this happiness which optimists just can’t have because they beforehand assume that things will always go in their way.

It’s quite wrong how people consider pessimists as a gloomy, dreary, sad-sack loser.A quiet and lonely guy with no active social life. But I know many people with an inclination towards pessimism with a great social life, including me.

You think you don’t even have a drop of pessimism in you, Let me change that then.

Consider you have a big next test next week. You have prepared for it but still are pretty anxious about it, you decide you need to take another crack at it.

Another one,

You are going on a trip tomorrow, thoughts like have I packed everything I need? Let me check my documents again, starts coming.

Have you ever had thoughts like these?

Sure you did.

This is called defensive pessimism and it is used by every single one of us.

But this doesn’t mean that pessimism only helps us to prepare for the worst. Yeah, It is its one of the most redeeming qualities. But studies have shown that it can also help you in managing stress and also can act as a powerful motivator.

If you really considered how much risk you were taking on with a new project or acknowledged how much work it would demand, you might never make the attempt. But the energizing force of optimism can convince you it will work out just long enough to turn that prediction into a reality. Likewise, pessimism about a potential outcome can mobilize us to act with eagerness: There’s nothing like a looming disaster to make us get things done.

People usually view optimism and pessimism as a fixed point of view, a fixed mindset which cannot be changed. But it has been found that we can adopt these mindsets as per our situation demands. Such a strategic use of optimism can be more effective than blindly following it.

Yes, You can develop an optimistic or pessimistic point of view as needed.

Your optimistic or pessimistic mindset should depend on the situation. You should be able to change your point of view according to the situation. If the situation demands you to be ambitious adopt optimistism. If it wants you to be more down to earth, then switch.

Optimists dream up of new things but pessimists keep them on the ground. There is no set "better" way of thinking. It's all relative depending on the situation. There have been plenty of people who have changed the world that were optimists. The same can be said for pessimists. Again, it's all relative.

I consider myself as a downright pessimist which isn’t all good for me as I used to believe. I can’t do my chores. I would be like,What’s the point, I am going to fail anyway.” This thought process is obstructing my life in a big way and I am trying to work on a more realistic and flexible mindset. And that’s the mindset you should work on too.

Strategic Optimism and Pessimism.

You should take the positives of both the viewpoints and develop an assembled viewpoint according to your needs.

1.Be Realistic

Optimists don’t ignore problems or refuse to see what is right in front of them. Instead, they acknowledge issues and then actively problem solve ways to improve or manage their situation.

2. Believe that Your Actions Affect the Outcome

Optimists don’t live in a state of delusion where they expect wonderful things to magically go their way. Instead, optimists realize that productive work and effort will increase the likelihood of achieving their desired goals.

3. View Your Goals as Attainable

Optimists believe their desires and goals as attainable.They believe that good can come their way as long as they keep working.

4. Change Your Perspective

Optimists explain bad events from a less personal angle. Instead of blaming your “bad luck” on a personal flaw or by claiming that the world is just rotten, try a new perspective by looking at the disappointment as an isolated event.

Thanks for reading! :)

Check out my profile for more. @abhed447

--

--

Abhed Manocha
Ascent Publication

Maybe I should rethink this, when I spelled it Blooging at first. l 17 l