One Step at a Time: How to Stop Panicking and Start Moving

Buck Stewart
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readJul 30, 2019

As I hit the off button on my alarm, I feel a sense of panic take over my mind. I stare into the darkness of my room.

All the obligations, expectations, and challenges of the day loom before me.

The demand for perfection at work staring back at me in my mind.

The dread was building rapidly. How could I possibly do all that I needed to do?

Between working two jobs, running a blog, and training for a marathon, I had put myself under a lot of pressure. And I was starting to crack.

As the paralyzing fear of becoming overwhelmed began to set in, I remembered something my wife told me.

Take One Step at a Time

“Take your day one step at a time,” she said.

What does that even mean?

I wasn’t exactly sure. But I figured trying something was better than staying frozen. So, I said to myself, the one step you need to take is to stand up. You don’t have to do anything else. Just stand up.

Reluctantly, I stood. Then I said to myself, the one step you need to take is to walk over to the shower.

I walked over to the shower.

I talked myself through turning the water on. Lathering up. Shampooing. Rinsing. Drying.

Standing in front of the mirror, I talked myself through shaving, one swipe of the razor at a time.

I talked through putting on my socks. My jeans. Buttoning each button on my shirt as if each button was its own separate task. Nothing more.

Before I knew it, I was at my desk and writing. It was only 4:45 AM. Soon, an hour had passed and I was out the door and on my way to work.

I continued to take things one step at a time throughout the day. And when I looked at the clock after what I thought was only a few hours, I saw it was almost 5:00 pm.

I had remained so focused on taking things one step at a time that the work day was over.

If you struggle with anxiety, worry, or panic attacks, or if you struggle with procrastination, laziness, or a lack of motivation, taking things one step at a time can help.

The below steps will help you stay in the present, prevent or stop your mind from spiraling, and allow you to take control so you can start moving forward.

1. Start Small

The next time you’re stuck, try the below steps to get out of your head and into the moment.

Ask yourself, “What is something within my control that I can do right now?”

Think small.

When you think you’ve got it, think smaller.

If you are struggling to go to work, the first step might not be to get out of bed. It might be to take one cover off. It might be to focus on your breathing for 30 seconds. It might be a sip of water.

Whenever you feel overwhelmed, remember that you can always start small.

2. Talk Yourself Through Every Step

It may seem silly at first but talking yourself through every step will force your mind to stay in the moment.

I struggle with living in the future. Other’s live in the past. This practice of avoiding the present, even if its unintentional, can drive your anxiety.

Living outside of the moment is to relinquish our control over the task at hand. We give that power instead to the “unknown” or the “once was.”

Allowing yourself to go into autopilot, even if you made it through step one, does not address the problem.

The point, above all, is to not only act but to stop the spiralfrom happening altogether.

3. Focus on the Senses

Your body is a receiver. Five senses meant to absorb the world around you. When you start to worry about the future, you turn off those senses.

If you find yourself sitting in fear of the day, turn your senses on one by one.

What are five things that you can see around you right now?

Trees? Concrete? Cars? People?

Talk through each one. While keeping your eyes alert to your surroundings, listen.

What are five unique sounds you can hear right now?

Do you hear people talking to each other? The sound of engines? Dogs barking?

While maintaining your focus on sights and sounds, identify five things that you can feel.

How do your feet feel in your shoes?

How do your sleeves feel on your arms?

What do the earbuds feel like in your ears?

Describe each feeling to yourself. Continue the process for the remaining senses until you’ve regained control of your thoughts and feel grounded in the moment.

4. Breath

We all know that to clam stress we need to focus on slow, metered breathing. But how often do you take that controlled breath only to find you’ve stopped focusing on your breath by the time you exhaled?

As you breath in, try counting to four. And say to yourself, “Breathing, breathing, breathing, breathing.”

Now hold for four counts. Say to yourself, “Holding, holding, holding, holding.”

Exhale and say breathing four times again.

Hold the exhale and say holding four times again.

Do this exercise four times, then stop.

Retired Navy SEAL Mark Divine calls this exercise “Box Breathing” in his book, Way of the SEAL. He teaches this method to students preparing for Navy SEAL training to help them focus their minds and it can do the same for you.

Box breathing does not need to become an hour long meditation. You just need to focus on your breathing long enough to transition your thoughts away from your current mental state.

5. Smile

Research shows that the simple act of smiling can actually trigger your mind to feel more positive and happier.

Smiling also makes you appear more open and receptive to the world around you. Other’s will find you more confident and likeable, which will make you feel more confident and likeable.

Even if your smile is fake, it causes your brain to change its current line of thinking.

If you feel paralyzed, remember the first step you can take in any situation, is to smile.

As you take on new goals, like starting a new business, fitness routine, or diet, the world may begin to feel a little overwhelming. Before you quit, try taking things one step at a time, then walk yourself through the above five strategies to draw you out of the past or the future and into the moment.

Subscribe to the Newsletter for recommendations on books, articles, workouts, and weekly challenges! Get the free Goal Setter worksheet when you join!

--

--

Buck Stewart
Ascent Publication

I run The Road of Trials, a publication dedicated to inspiring action and providing hard-won strategies for achievement, mental fortitude, and leadership.