Opinion: AI Is Going To Take My Writing Job (And I’m Okay With It)

Eva Gutierrez 💡
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readSep 19, 2019
Eva on Instagram

Lately, I’ve noticed a pattern in a specific conversation I’ve been having with my peers.

At this point, we’re all aware of AI’s current impact on our lives. It’s the reason why our Instagram feeds are curated perfectly to our taste and the ads are tuned to our current needs.

If you’re forward thinking, you’re also aware that AI’s impact on our lives is likely to look like this.

AI is getting better, thanks to its human counterparts and that means — it is essential for every person to look to the future of their career and how AI will impact their industry.

What’s scary to me, is the lack thereof.

When I talk to people about the inevitability of AI taking my job as a content writer and copywriter, the conversation goes like this,

“I’m speculating in the next 5–10 years, Ai will take my job. Pair that with a changing media landscape and I’m remaining hyperaware that my job, or the necessity for it, is likely to decline.”

“There’s no way AI can ever be as creative as a human when it comes to writing.”

“Yeah, it’s a crazy thought right? But, software companies like Copypro.ai already have AI writing copy that’s converting. [Company name] has a software that chooses what your email subject line should be, based off of body text, and is 99% more efficient at choosing the right subject than humans.”

“Yeah, but there is no way that AI will be able to write as well as humans.”

“I could be wrong. I’m sure in the future, if Jeff Bezos or Bill Gates chooses to pen their own article or book, people will gladly read that instead. But on the other hand, content and copy for content marketing strategies could be written by software.”

“No, there’s just no way.”

This is when I give up, shrug my shoulders and remind myself, “To each their own.”

In 2019. If you’re not looking towards the future of AI’s impact on your industry, you’re not going to win longterm.

Gary Vee feels the same way. Here’s what he has to say about technology being able to take away the need for truck drivers, quoted from this CNBC article,

Truck drivers “know that in 20 years there’s a very good chance the trucks are going to drive themselves. [They] are more than capable in four hours a day of educating themselves on another skill.”

AI is getting smarter and we have two options. You fear it or you position yourself to capitalize off of it.

For me, I want to work with the companies who are trying to create a software that does my job better than me. I want to see the backend of this AI and help it in anyway I can.

I’m not fearful of AI taking my job, I’m ready to position myself to be in a safe place when it does.

And you should too.

--

--

Eva Gutierrez 💡
Ascent Publication

Weekly thought exercises inspired by mental models, psychology principles, and questions from successful entrepreneurs. ➡️ ThinkWithAI.com