Pessimism Is Not a Useful Way of Life

What right does a pessimist have to inflict mental exhaustion on the world? You need mental uplifting right now.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
8 min readJan 5, 2021

--

Photo by Alexandre Boucey on Unsplash

I respect pessimists deeply. I was one for most of my life.

Right after leaving behind a startup I loved, my pessimism went into overdrive. It drove me to take a job in a call center because I thought I was worthless. I thought the world was nothing more than lucky elites versus stupid people like me who were destined to fail.

I’d go to my call center job every day and eat cold canned minestrone soup for lunch. It was the perfect metaphor for my broken existence.

A mentor at work gave me some good advice: “Try seeing the world better than it is.”

It seemed like stupid advice from a hero-worshipping optimist. It actually became the catalyst for me to change. I realized everything seemed f*cked up because that was the story I was selling to myself.

How you describe the world is how you will unconsciously see the world.

If you see the world as screwed then that’s how it will appear. Solutions to big problems often come from nowhere.

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb