Pursuing a Life of Pleasure, Plastic Surgery, and Pain Avoidance

I disconnected from reality and missed all the red flags.

Kristi Tarrant
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by dusan jovic on Unsplash

Why is it so hard to recognize red flags in real-time? It seems to be mostly in the rearview mirror that we see how far we veered off the path. I should have seen the darkness creeping in as I attained my “perfect on paper” life. But I ignored the signs. I became addicted to the dopamine-rush that came with what I thought was living my best life.

I lost myself in a fictional version of reality for over two years — almost like I lived inside a television drama series. How did it happen? And how did I get out?

Biting the Apple

My first taste of the “good life” came when my husband and I joined our local country club as members in April 2017. I remember walking into the clubhouse and seeing the stately carpet, curtains, and wood trimmings and thinking somehow I had stepped into a different world. A world filled with luxury and intrigue. Part of me still couldn’t believe that we could afford this lifestyle. The membership promotion was for young families under 40, Junior Executives. Even that label was alluring.

The first summer of golf, pool parties, and fireworks under the evening sky while servers delivered us cocktails was a bit…

--

--

Kristi Tarrant
Ascent Publication

Second-time Wifey. Fortune 100 Leader. Blended Fam Mama. Storyteller. Triathlete. Yoga Teacher. I write about: Life | Health | Mindfulness | Self | Leadership