Quality Over Quantity: With Content, Sometimes Less is More

Bradley Gilbert
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readJul 15, 2016

As someone who puts out content on various platforms, there is somewhat of a trend that I have been noticing with a number of content producers and thought leaders that I think is worth discussing. A number of you reading this will probably disagree with me but I am going to share my opinion on the importance of quality over quantity when it comes to sharing content on the internet.

Before I get in to it, I am going to share with you the reason why I create and put out content. A great number of content producers and influencers are usually in the business of selling something. This is all well and good as I am a strong believer of making the most of every business opportunity that comes your way. However, when the message behind your content is purely driven by the income you get from marketing, it kills the quality of the actual content. This is a trend that I am noticing with a number of producers, they try to put out daily content to grab as much attention as they possibly can but by doing so, they are slowly killing the quality of the actual content that they are giving to their audience.

My reason for sharing content is to give value to my audience by sharing my actual thoughts on various topics. This is not to say that I would not use my content for marketing or business purposes, however, if it means that I have to compromise the quality of my content just to produce more, this is something that I will never do.

As much as I am a producer, I am also a follower. I follow some great individuals that put out very high quality content. To maintain focus, I minimize the number of influencers that I follow and try to follow those whose content provide me with the most value. Again, it seems that as influencers get more popular, they try to change their ‘strategy’ from putting out content once or twice a week and having excellent engagement from their audience to putting out numerous videos and articles daily without even realizing that they are losing engagement.

Mind you, I am saying this from my own experience as a follower, I have moved from actually looking forward to reading that weekly article and watching that weekly video or that video and article that is released every Monday and Thursday to completely ignoring the three and four videos and articles that are released every single day.

I essentially feel like I am being spammed with content and I’m forced to weed through too much to find quality. I no longer like or comment because it’s just too much to keep up with.

My expertise is in Governance and Risk; I am in no way claiming to be a marketing expert but common sense would tell you that people love looking forward to good things and scarcity creates value. When you spam your audience with daily content, you become predictable and as a human, there is no way you can put out content every single day and maintain the same level of quality, it’s just humanly impossible.

The content marketing experts and social media gurus reading this are probably saying, “why don’t this guy shut the hell up.” — I know they are because I have read articles from people who are considered as branding and social media experts encouraging producers to put out numerous content every day. I disagree with this, both as a producer and as a follower. My opinion is that there is no ‘one size fits all’ solution to publishing content. I believe that your focus should be on quality rather than quantity. If you are someone who is extremely gifted who can create high quality content and maintain your quality levels on a daily basis, without spamming your audience with substandard information, then by all means, release your content daily.

However, if you are a regular human being, try taking a day or two to put some thought into what you are writing or recording for your audience. Not only will it make you feel more fulfilled in what you are producing but your audience will appreciate you more for the quality of the content that you are giving to them.

If you enjoyed this article, click on the heart below to recommend it.

This article can also be viewed at bradleygilbert.com.

Follow me here on medium and on : Twitter and Facebook — I’d be happy to connect with you.

--

--