Quit Powering Through Writer’s Block

What I learned about my writing and my process when I stepped back and listened.

C. Hogan
Ascent Publication
4 min readNov 21, 2019

--

Photo by Edu Lauton on Unsplash

I used to take the sledgehammer approach to writers block. Uninspired, stuck, burned out, I would sit down at my computer and write any way. I pounded on the keyboard as if I were chipping away at a wall, one word and one brick at a time. But the results were often less than stellar or enjoyable.

So I started to get curious about writer’s block instead. What if writer’s block wasn’t the universe’s attempt to stop my creative flow and thwart my dreams? What if writer’s block was trying to help me? What if it was teaching me a better way, and I was ignoring it?

When writer’s block hit again recently, I took a new approach. I didn’t try to power my way through. Instead, I took a step back and listened. Here’s what I learned:

Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Lesson #1: Enjoy the journey; let go of the end result.

When I start to focus on the gap between where I am and where I want to be, I can get panicky and try to force an outcome. But I’m just adding more negative energy to an already flawed approach.

Instead, when I take a step back, I remember that books (especially children’s books) are supposed to be enjoyable! I also find that my writing is better and more creative and inviting when I have some fun doing it. As Harper Lee said, “First of all, you must please the one person you’re writing for. Yourself.”

Photo by Alex Holyoake on Unsplash

Lesson #2: Friends don’t let friends write depleted.

Writer’s block can be a sign that I’m headed to burnout. Life is busy and demanding and full of surprises — some unpleasant. If I don’t take care of myself, I can quickly become depleted. Then my creativity suffers. Ideas dry up, and my motivation to complete anything falters.

Instead of writing through depletion, I’m learning to pause and nourish myself — body, mind, and creative spirit. For me this means getting a massage, snuggling with my kids, walks in nature, vacations, museums, a meal with a girlfriend, the movies, yoga and meditation, or just a day on the couch. I feel more refreshed afterwards, with renewed energy and inspiration.

Photo by Crest Lee on Unsplash

Lesson #3: Structure is also my friend.

My brain is equal parts logical/perfectionistic/achiever and scattered creative. One part of me craves a routine, and the other half fights it tooth and nail. Writer’s block often shows up in places where I’m either too unstructured or too rigid. Instead, I’m embracing a more flexible approach to structure in writing and in life.

Writing: Plotting and story ligic will not make my novel formulaic. Plotting is a skeleton on which to hang the muscle and flesh of my story, a roadmap that has worked for countless novelists. My writing and my process are ten times better thanks to books like Save the Cat! Writes a Novel and Shaunta GrimesNinja Writers plotting course. And taking time up front to ask the big ‘What ifs’ and ‘So whats’ of my story can save me countless hours of revision. To that end, Lisa Cron’s Story Genius is a lifesaver.

Life: I’ve started a new scheduling experiment too. Every seven to ten days I satisfy my logical brain by mapping out my schedule in line with my goals and values. Once my schedule is set, that part of my brain can go on autopilot. My creative brain takes over. I can relax and focus on making cool stuff, knowing that I’m still meeting my responsibilities.

Creativity, inspiration, and ideas all ebb and flow over time. Sometimes writing isn’t fun for me. Sometimes it’s just a lot of hard work. Now though when writer’s block rears its head I know it’s time to take a breath and pay attention. I might just learn something.

Christa Hogan is a veteran freelance and creative writer and author. She’s also training to teach yoga and mindfulness meditation.

--

--

C. Hogan
Ascent Publication

Writer. RYT 500 yoga teacher. Passionate about helping creatives craft sustainable lives. Editor @ The Kriative Introvert.