Quitters, Believers and Those who Cry…

Anne Mawathe
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readMay 21, 2018
Photo by Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Growing up, I was taught that being a woman meant I did not cry ‘ovyo ovyo’. It is a sharp contrast from what I see in cartoons and movies, women portrayed as criers. But my family is on another level you see. Tears were measured, happiness was measured, and living life had a method to it. I learned, as a girl, I had to have my legs covered to a certain length. My heart, I could bear it, but not all. The women in my extended family are fierce in a quiet kind of way. They cry, but you do not see their tears. In funerals, for instance, the men will say ‘finish up (the crying) we do not want disruptions. I became, through them, a fierce go-getter who does not cry ovyo ovyo.

When I Officially Became A Quitter

It happened so fast. I was on assignment, looking for the then vice president Kalonzo Musyoka to comment on the death Wangari Maathai, the first African woman to win the Nobel peace prize.

I was pregnant. I went to the toilet, because I tend to pee frequently, sometimes I think the pee is in my head and not the bladder. A waste of time fuelled by my anxiety.

I saw blood. I panicked. I called the office to say I was going to the hospital. I did. The doctor ordered a scan. I waited for hours on end with a full bladder. When I finally got the results, my pregnancy was no more. Everything else after this was a bloody blur. I was all jagged edges. Weeping privately. Weeks passed.

I returned to work. A normal routine on the outside. Inside, a volcano was slowly waiting to erupt. It was not long before the secrets of my heart were shared publicly. It started with a headache. Intense. My heart was in pain. The way the heart pains is exclusive, daunting, and personal. You feel your soul say how tired it has become. You have no taste for anything. Music becomes noise. People become destructions. Solitude is your friend. But it is what you do in solitude that makes or breaks. Mine fuelled the heartache. You cry.

You curse. Your pulse rises and falls as if to a tune that is not on your playlist. What is it like to reside in an embattled body? Mine was rebellious. The day I went for the D & C, I wanted to abandon it in the hospital. It wasn’t mine. The ravaged shell that was in such pain felt out of place. My boobs had become big, sour and tender. Pronounced. I was exhausted, consumed by what it meant to have boobs ready for a child who is no more. I loathed them.

Officially, I had quit the club of those who cry in dark corners, those who need good reasons to bare their souls, I started to cry ovyo ovyo with the tiniest of provocations.

Depression

Overwhelmed by the intense headaches, I went to the hospital. I ended up hospitalised for depression. It had a fancy name, one day I will recall what it was, but it had to do with grief. I was still fighting to the day that I sat opposite the doctor. I was all jagged edges, furious about life, God, family, trees, flies. Everything that came my way was a trigger for something. I desired stillness, a monotonous kind that was untouched, virgin, and exclusive. It existed in my head.

I felt helpless. I wanted to resign to fate and let this thing that had no name just take me with it.

I was in the hospital, catching some sleep I guess. I had hardly slept for weeks on end. Because my nights were mine to go to battle with God. We wrestled about whys. I was blindsided by pain. The kind that has no physical cure. Its depth is intensely tasking, it consumes you. A child crying was enough to take me back to my darkest pit. A pregnant woman would easily make me surrender to the weight of loss.

Friends visited. Some said they had gone through loss too. I was shocked. How did they make it? I began to compare. To feel insufficient. I was indeed a quitter. I had abandoned the exclusive club of women who bare their pain privately and with ‘strength’. Mine was public and naked. Then I wondered. Why didn’t you tell me? Perhaps my journey would have had a reference? Isn’t that what friends are for? It was evident, there are things that you just cannot explain. They run in families, and cultures. Things we tell ourselves about loss are varied, some border on hilarity.

I was told not to say I had lost a child. It wasn’t one. It was simply a pregnancy, the knowers said. I was told not to talk about it publicly, the gods might deny me another chance. I was told not to say I was even pregnant, some people will cast their evil spells in my womb. There were others. Many.

When you have grown up in a family like mine, you learn to break rules gently. I talked about my loss. I read widely about depression. I talked about it openly. I had never had the energy to write about it, even though I often write for healing, laughter, or whatever makes me tick. I was not sure. I wondered what kind of emotions this would evoke.

Then a friend of mine lost a pregnancy. She was bitter, she was torn, she was lost. Hers, too, had a name. She said she was a beautiful girl. She had a head like her father's. Yes. It is true. The connection you have with the unborn is intense. You visualise them. You talk to your child. You have some me-time with them.

This thing broke me, it crushed me, chewed me and spit me out and sneered.

I read her text and it all came back to me. I know this place. It has no name.

Surely, it is now fitting for me to write about losing a pregnancy in a society that has a script on when it is right to mourn. Society tell you how to bare your pain. My gynaecologist, then, told me that a big percentage of women who get pregnant lose their pregnancies in the first trimester, fewer in the second. Yes, that is how easy it is to become a statistic. This kind of loss is different from what most know.

Society says, it is not a human being people knew, so be all grown and strong. When it is for an old person like my grandfather, deal with it after all he was old. As if age will assuage your pain. People do not show up the way you want them to. They have drunk from the cup that tells them who is to be mourned and who is to be blacked out. My child had a name. My child was planned for. I mourned, feeling alone because there was no reference. Yet, comparatively, I was lucky. My friends showed up. There are those who go through the motions on their own. Because they cannot deviate from the sociocultural script that conscripts our emotions to a warped standard.

Dear society.

The best you can do for someone who has lost a pregnancy is to be there for them. Hear them out. You do not necessarily have to say anything. Just show up.

To my friend who sends me a message, mourning her daughter, I want you to know that there is nothing wrong with you. It is okay to go to battle every day asking the same odd question. Why me? Honestly why? With time, I know this because I have been here, it does get better. It won’t make sense now. But the pain does subside. Your heart mends and you begin to feel your pulse again.

Yours Truly.

--

--

Anne Mawathe
Ascent Publication

I am a wanderer, I write to breath, I write to ease, I write to laugh. I stumbled on Medium and it looks like I am staying.