Reaching For Your Highest Vibration

Our energetic vibration literally determines our life experience each day

Angela Barnard
Ascent Publication
4 min readJan 23, 2019

--

The Back Story

In 2018, I hand wrote one letter a day to a different person somewhere in the world. Yes, that’s right. I went retro — hand wrote and posted letters for three hundred and sixty five days.

However, I did not write 365 letters; nope I wrote 397 letters that went to 55 different countries. Most of these letters went to strangers who wished to participate in my project.

What was the madness behind this endeavour you may wonder? Well, it all began in October 2017 as my partner dragged me across the bog of the Scottish Highlands in the most godawful, miserable, soul-destroying weather for four days.

As I fought against gale force winds, shielded my face from hail and driving rain I escaped mentally to a happy place, at least this was my hope. I remembered walking 900 kilometres across Spain in 2014 along the Camino de Santiago. I remembered how each week I would compose a letter to friends and family to inform them of my progress and that I was still alive.

These letters became the foundation of my book Letters from The Way and as I composed my weekly missives, my heart was joyful. In the bog of Scotland, I wondered if writing a letter to friends at that time would fill me with joy. I then remembered that an apple a day keeps the doctor away and I wondered what a letter a day would do for ones soul.

As I know of no such person to write a letter a day for one year, I had no reference point so I decided to discover this answer for myself. So it was, a glorious project was conceived.

My letter a day project brought great joy to my life, created phenomenal connections, and opened up my world to fascinating people. I had to rise to the occasion and this project expanded and changed me in so many intricate, delightful ways.

It was in September 2018 as I contemplated the toxic condition of the world that I wondered to myself, how will it be to consciously encourage others each day for one year. Once again, I had no reference point, so I decided to explore this question and discover the answer. So it was, in October 2018 that I began my one year quest to deliver Snippets of Encouragement to others each day.

I have decided to share the written and podcast version here on Medium, because we can never get enough encouragement (in my opinion).

Each snippet is exactly that, short, powerful and encouraging!

My hope is that you will be encouraged and inspired as you read these snippets each day. If you wish, you may sign up to receive them directly to your inbox

#SnippetsOfEncouragement — Day 1

Listen to the Snippet

Today is the first day of 365 days of snippets of encouragement. I’m so excited to be starting this journey with you, but the irony is … great idea, great inspiration, full of excitement, and I’m not feeling well. I’ve got a bug in my body. My throat is sore, and I just feel ugh.

Now, as the snippet of encouragement for today is:

As I want to bring encouragement into the world, I am reminded that sometimes we want to encourage people from a place of feeling good, but the fact of the matter is, we don’t always feel good.

Even if we’re not feeling good, even if we’re not feeling uplifted within ourselves, that doesn’t mean that we can’t go forward and encourage other people, and show up as the best version of ourselves for that day.

The vibration that I’m looking for within myself right now, even though I don’t feel good physically in my body, is a vibration of joy and a vibration of excitement because this is an exciting journey for me. I don’t know how it’s going to end; I just know it’s going to be a step-by-step, day by day journey. In this moment of not feeling physically well in my body, the best that I can do, is to hold on to that vibration of excitement and joy and then move forward.

You know what? This too shall pass. I shall get better; however, I choose not to lose the opportunity to encourage you. For those of you, who are listening to this snippet of encouragement, please don’t think that I’m advocating beating up the dog. Okay? That’s not what’s happening. The graphic that goes with this snippet is of a cat that looks totally pissed off. And we all know that cats rule the world, right? This is the context for this snippet. That’s all for today, folks.

Leave a comment if you’ve enjoyed this snippet. Remember to encourage others today.

--

--

Angela Barnard
Ascent Publication

Author - Speaker - Coach - Pilgrim - Cynical Optimist - Lover of Life. Read my book: mybook.to/caminobook2 Website: https://www.inspireforlifecoaching.com/