Road Signs

I’ve stolen them. I’ve shot them. Now, I’m reading them.

B.A. Morrison
Ascent Publication

--

I received word last night that a childhood friend suddenly passed away. After the shock subsides and the sadness sinks in, reflection inevitably takes over.

I am 46 years into Life’s Highway, and like most people, it’s been quite the ride. But I must be honest-when you find out a fellow forty-six year old traveler has suddenly met the end of his journey, it tends to change the way you drive.

I find myself reading the road signs more and more these days.

I can’t do the things I used to do. I’m pretty sure there’s a country song that already speaks to this, but I don’t care for it. Not because the song is wrong, but because my heart still argues with my mind on a daily basis. But this sign is posted for a reason, and I think I understand. There are things in life we will miss if we continue at a breakneck pace. We only get one chance at this journey.

Yet sometimes we are forced to slow down for different reasons. I know people who have tried to speed through tough times, and I’ve witnessed the damage and cost that’s ensued. No traveler likes rough roads. It is never anticipated and rarely planned for. But one thing I’ve learned-it makes you a better driver. Maturity is gained. Strength is found. Senses are sharpened. You don’t truly learn who you are when conditions are smooth. Here, you do.

As a young man, I rarely gave way to anyone. The road was mine, and you were welcome to use it as long as you understood your place. Stay in your lane, don’t get too close, and whatever you do, do not pass me, get in front of me, or do anything to get in my way and cause me to tap my brakes.

Pride.

If you want to know how I really feel about this now, at this point in my journey, please scroll back up and read the sign posted above this one again.

But you cannot stop. No matter what. Oh, there have been times I’ve wanted to, probably even did a couple of times. We all reach points on this trip where we ask ourselves, “Why keep going?”

Because others are following. People are watching and will do as we do. Our actions influence others, whether we realize it or not. When we are young, the word “example” seems to apply to others more than us. But once you’ve been driving for a while and the odometer has racked up the miles, the role interestingly becomes reversed. Keep moving.

We all wish for a long and rewarding journey. Some occupy the road for a very long time. Sadly, some do not. You can drive alone, you can ignore your fellow travelers, but you will be missing out on so much. To share the adventure, enjoy the scenery, and reflect upon the memories with friends and family is a gift that many of us do not fully appreciate until it’s too late. Start now. Share the road.

The road brings out many emotions as we drive, especially when the distance begins to take a toll. The dangers and distractions can bring out the worst in us. I would be lying if I said I haven’t rolled down the window and extended my middle finger a time or two. But those who have experienced firsthand the hazards and learned to take heed of the signs recognize that respect, even tolerance, makes the road better for us all. We may own the journey, but we don’t own the road. Have some consideration.

As kids, when we first begin to drive, we all believe the destination is the goal. We can’t wait to get where we’re going. But as we travel, as the miles click by, we begin to take on a different understanding of what the trip is really about. Yes, the vehicle breaks down at times and we curse. We become impatient and take that misguided short-cut. People who care, who have been there before try to tell us, but we don’t listen. Sometimes we lose focus and crash. This is the Highway of Life, and we must learn our lessons the hard way.

It isn’t about the road. It’s the trip, and it takes time to figure this out. Just as learning about a friend dying yesterday gave me a troubling moment of pause, we must take care of ourselves and read the signs, for they are there for a reason.

It’s a good trip. I’m proud to have you along.

Just don’t mess with my radio stations.

--

--

B.A. Morrison
Ascent Publication

20+ year business manager. Family. Christian. Baseball. I live, therefore I write. What’s your excuse?