Sheryl Sandberg’s Go-To Tool for Self-Compassion: Journaling

When you write about your bad times, it helps you overcome fear and anxiety faster.

Nishith Goyal
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readMay 7, 2021

--

Reading and Journaling — Two Keystone Habits

After writing my journals every day for the past five years, I don’t need a reason to write. It comes automatically. I am not looking for any specific merit. I see the benefits across so many areas.

Good days-bad days, complaints or gratitude, pain or joy, friends or family, festivals or mournings; I write and express every day and everything.

Reading is one of the habits which caught me not by choice. I don’t know when and which one was my first book. I can recall that starting from just a few pages, reading helped me understand that there are floods of perspective waiting for me. And, the more I dig myself between the pages, the more this World will become clear to me.

Option B

One such perspective appeared in the book “Option B” written by Sheryl Sandberg and Adam Grant.

While writing about her tough times post her husband's demise, Sheryl says Journaling helped her come back to life. She explains how Journaling supported her during the period of trauma and become…

--

--

Nishith Goyal
Ascent Publication

Author of two books, Creator - Be Better Bit-By-Bit, Long-distance runner, diarist, Podcaster. Writes about Journaling, Self, and Positive Impact.