Simple Living: Simple, Not Easy

Carl Phillips
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readJan 13, 2020

--

Image: Author’s Own

The simple living and minimalist movements are thriving.

Films, books and blogs abound — all touting the virtues of living a life less complicated. A large percentage of my own writing operates from such a space, after being inspired to seek and live my version of simpler.

More and more of us are seeking a life less distracted. A life where we can unplug occasionally. A life less busy. A life of focus. A life full of clarity and meaning, not necessarily stuff. An intentional life.

The irony of moving toward living a simpler life is it takes a lot of effort. Simple it may be, easy it is not.

My Journey to Simpler (Personal Reflections)

My own path to wanting to live a simpler life is, I’m sure, pretty typical.

Nearly a decade ago my life was going well with little to complain about in the grand scheme of things. I had great friends and family, a well paid job, a roof over my head and certainly knew where my next meals were coming from.

However, I had also started to accumulate more in my life. More material possessions, more commitments, more meetings, more spend, more hassle. As a direct reaction to this, I felt like less and less of my time was, mine. The quality of my time was decreasing as more was added…

--

--

Carl Phillips
Ascent Publication

Writer. Simplicity seeker. Lover of cheetahs and good coffee. Author of Write: Simple Ways to Uncover Your Best Work. Owner of http://frictionlessliving.net/.