Sometimes You Have to Bake Cookies and Play with Your Dog Instead of Be Productive

Less is still more in 2021.

Ryan Porter
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Marco López on Unsplash

The stock market is crashing.

My job is stealing all my time.

I still live with my parents.

How’ve you been lately?

My first blog post’s headline serves as an important reminder. A productive mindset is a burden. When work becomes an addiction, it’s an addiction. Reliance on anything is counter-intuitive, even if it’s seemingly positive.

“Sometimes I feel useless when I’m unproductive.”

It was my first blog post, please don’t judge me. I wrote it near the beginning of the pandemic. I was frustrated by things I couldn’t control. My tutoring job slowed significantly, so I made less money.

I could only play so many video games or run so many miles before feeling like I was wasting my life away.

Now I wish I had that kind of freedom. I know exactly what I’d do if I had more time on my hands. However, that’s only because I’ve experienced both sides of the coin.

I choose productivity, but sometimes, it’s better to take an adult-sized dose of generic brand chill pills. Last week, I felt mildly burnt out, and I decided to ignore my urge to…

--

--

Ryan Porter
Ascent Publication

I’ve helped generate $20 million with video marketing. Now I help solopreneurs get more leads: https://videomarketingsecrets.carrd.co/