Sorry, But You Need to Learn Anything as Fast as Tim Ferriss and Josh Kaufman

Know the Secrets to Learn Any Skill in a Short Time

Daniel González
Ascent Publication
5 min readAug 23, 2018

--

Every entrepreneur wants to learn many things. And we always want to learn from one day to the next.

We always think that in 3 hours we will become the next Mark Zuckerberg of the programming or the next Picasso.

But in the end, after 3 hours we get frustrated and stop learning.

In the end, we don’t end up learning anything. We ended up complaining and looking on the internet how to learn things fast.

We have a need to satisfy our thirst to want to learn things.

and we read and read but in the end, we don’t learn anything.

If you feel identified with this, I confess that you aren’t the only one.

It also happened to me. It happens to me all the time.

In fact, it happened to me every day until I discovered two books that changed the way I see things.

They taught me the methods to learn everything fast.

Those two books are:

The 4 hours chef by Tim Ferriss and the first 20 hours by Josh Kaufman.

Thanks to those two books I was able to learn the basics of design. Learn Windsurfing Learn the basic principles of programming.

The 4 hours chef by Tim Ferriss

Tim Ferriss is an entrepreneur who needs no introduction. Everyone knows him.

Since he published his first book “The Four Hours Workweek”. He has created a kind of cult in his person.

A cult created thanks to Tim Ferriss dared to apply the Pareto Law to things never seen before.

To things like work, health, and in this case, to learn fast.

How does Tim Ferriss apply the Pareto law?

It all started when he blew up from so much work and bought an airplane ticket outside the United States.

On his trip, he realized that the number of hours he worked wasn’t proportional to the results he obtained. He discovered that he worked for work, and not depending on the results.

How does Tim apply the Pareto law for quick learning?

If we follow the Pareto law. 20% of the skill we want to develop, we will apply in 80% of the circumstances.

So,

It doesn’t make sense to practice a skill for years if we only need 20% of it.

To not go into details.

I’ve got a lot of material from Tim Ferriss. Material where he teaches how to learn anything faster.

I link you a TED TALK👇👇👇👇

I link the material that Tim used to learn any language in 3 months👇👇👇👇

The material to memorize a deck of cards in 60 seconds👇👇👇👇

The First 20 Hours by Josh Kaufman

Kaufman’s book is similar to Tim Ferris’s.

Both conclude that is little what we have to learn. That most of the time we will always use the same things.

In fact,

The book is called “The First 20 hours” because Kaufman states that We only need 20 hours to learn any skill.

I link you a ted talk where he explains his theory of the 20 hours👇👇👇👇

This book is easier to put into practice than Tim Ferriss’s book.

The way Kaufman develops his ideas is simpler than Tim Ferriss’s book.

His main theory is to choose the most essential skill we want to learn. The ability that has greater applicability. And practice it for at least 20 hours.

That is all. We only have to force ourselves to practice the same thing for 20 hours.

Does it seem simple, no?

Not necessarily, Kaufman says the first few hours will be frustrating. That we will do horrible things. That we will give shame.

That’s what Kaufman calls the frustration curve. It’s the curve that everyone goes through when they learn something new. It’s the curve that we must overcome.

And for that, we have to practice deliberately for a minimum of 20 hours.

conclusion

After reading these two books, I felt an urge to learn.

I discovered that I didn’t need to practice something for years. But in a matter of months, I could do it.

That I didn’t need to go to college to learn about marketing.

That I could learn to program myself.

That I only needed to use photoshop for 20 hours to learn the basics.

In my opinion, the moment I read both books my life changed. I became another person. In a person hungry to learn.

Answer in the comments what skill do you plan to learn after reading the books?

On the other hand, I attach other articles where I recommend other books.

--

--

Daniel González
Ascent Publication

I left COLLEGE because I had no MONEY. Now I'm a BARTENDER and I write about how an ECOLOGICAL and SUSTAINABLE BAR would be.