South African ‘Ubuntu’ Philosophy Could Be the Secret Formula to Happiness

Embrace the mindset of legends like Nelson Mandela.

Sara M.
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readMay 12, 2021

--

A post recommended for me on Quora inspired this blog. It was just what I’d needed after the long day I had. It is funny how things appear to you in the darkest of times.

The post is one you have probably seen pop up on Facebook before. If not, here is the photo and the text below it.

Photo by Jessica Hilltout

In the post, the text below the image said:

“In this African Tribe, when someone does something wrong, they take the person to the center of the village where the tribe surrounds him and for 2 days say all the good he has done. The tribe believes each person is good but sometimes people make mistakes, which are really a cry for help. They unite to reconnect him with his good nature.”

The comments below this post were filled with messages of praise, self-reflection, and even a few criticisms. Some people said this tribe did not exist, that this post was made to become a meme.

Upon that, I dug deeper to find out more about the origins of this image and, more…

--

--

Sara M.
Ascent Publication

My first love is stories | Made my passion a career | Professional writer +7 years in | Join my email list: https://saramohd.ck.page/