SQUARE PEGS DON’T FIT IN ROUND HOLES.

Michelle Monet
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readApr 9, 2017

When Atari hired Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak to develop a video game in 1976, Wozniak had to build the actual product.

Jobs didn’t know how.

Woz was the digital designer, and Steve Jobs was the businessman. Jobs could barely code or program. He knew just enough to know who should be on his technical team.

Everyone is not good at everything.

Mark Cuban, business expert and co host of ‘Shark Tank’ said today on a YouTube video something very similar when he said: ‘Self awareness is probably one of the most important skill set that anyone can have…

‘…Know what you’re GOOD at, what you are MARGINAL at and what you SUCK at…and then find people who complement your skills.’

I love this!

This reminds me of my boyfriend Bob and I. We could be Oscar and Felix from the ‘Odd Couple’.

We both have very different strengths and weaknesses.

I am great at spelling, I can play almost any song by ear on the guitar, I can sing and draw almost anything but I am, horrible at math and maps.

Bob is horrible at spelling and writing, cant play an instrument or sing, admittedly, but he is great at math and science and expert at maps.

I am intensely emotional. Bob is not.

So we all have our strengths and weaknesses. Some say:

‘Your greatest weaknesses can be your greatest strength’ — which I really do believe in.

Play to our strengths

“I haven’t got any,” said Harry, before he could stop himself.

“Excuse me,” growled Moody, “you’ve got strengths if I say you’ve got them. Think now. What are you best at?”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

We have only one life. We need to PLAY to our strengths, not try to become a square peg if we are a round one.

Trying to force our square peg selves into a round hole is futile and frustrating.

I don’t think we have time to waste playing to our weaknesses. Instead we should develop more of our strengths and consistently do more of those things and less of the things we suck at.

Plus if you are good at something, you will most likely want to do more of it.

Yeah. I’m so glad I am doing this now.

THANKS FOR READING! If you enjoyed this, please click the ❤ to share.

www.michellemonet.com

www.michellemonet.com/blog (My 365 BLOGS in 365 DAYS challenge)

Here are my three poetry books where I ponder many more life questions. https://www.amazon.com/Michelle-Monet/e/B01J5X26QS/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1488682062&sr=1-1

--

--

Michelle Monet
Ascent Publication

Musician. Author. Poet. Seeker. Currently writing Showbiz Memoir and Broadway style Musical. My 5 books are on Amazon. Contact: 1020monet@gmail.com