Stan Lee Inspires Me

RIP to a man who was still engaged in the world around him.

LeNora Faye
Ascent Publication

--

Attending Stan Lee’s forum 2017 Calgary Comic Expo. Photo Credit: LeNora Faye

Comic Expo 2012 Calgary, Alberta-the cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation has reunited for the first time in 20 years.

This means nothing to me as I have never seen an episode but I know who Patrick Stewart is.

I’m standing in a very long disorganized line, along with my brother, my little nephew and my boyfriend at the time.

Tens of thousands of people in all sorts of costumes surround us. I see Batman and Darth Vader and creatures from Middle Earth and even the Red Skull.

I’m not a comic person, Sci Fi/ Fantasy is not my genre. That being said, I love anything that involves Hollywood. I’ve seen every Marvel movie. So this is why I’m tagging along with the men in my life who are avid fans.

Inside, I stalk the autograph hall, trying to get a glimpse of my first famous person. I don’t want to meet anyone, I just want to see them.

The one who gets me the most excited is James Marsters aka Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. My brother and I manage to sneak into the VIP line and snap a few photos before getting caught. He doesn’t have his signature white blond hair but it’s…

--

--

LeNora Faye
Ascent Publication

Childfree Lifestyle Advocate • Co-founder of Childfree Media Ltd. Choosing not to have kids and facilitating conversations about choice awareness.