Surviving a Recession Is the Real Financial Superpower

Not how much money you make, save, or invest.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readNov 10, 2020

--

Photo by Boba Jovanovic on Unsplash

This thought smacked me in the face the other day. All the people I know who seem financially well off haven’t survived a recession yet.

Anyone can get rich through a bull market or a period of prosperity.

You can keep getting rich in the short-term, but wealth is built in the long-term. In 2008, I witnessed the full force of a recession.

It blew my skinny ass off the concrete pavement. I washed up three doors down with my ego barely intact.

The recession taught me:

  • Survival skills
  • Risk management
  • The financial enemy that is the ego
  • How to lose
  • How to rebuild
  • How to fight

It doesn’t matter how much money you make. It doesn’t how many side hustles you have. It doesn’t matter if you make money by creating content. It doesn’t matter if you save more than you spend. It doesn’t matter if you are an expert investor.

What matters is whether you can take a sidekick to the face from a recession and not accidentally lose all your money.

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb