Swap Out Self-Sabotaging Habits For Positive Ones by Taking a Step Back

When you know the real enemy, you can choose the right tools to defeat it.

Adrienne Koziol
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Pexels on Pixaby

Time to confess. I’m that annoying friend who’s usually late. It might be 2 minutes, or it might be 20. I’ve gotten better over the years, but it’s still at the “consistent” level.

Sometimes I’m actually on time or even early, but I say that with unjustified pride. It’s like saying, “Hey, look at me! I was polite today!” Sure, it’s a good thing, but it shouldn’t be an out-of-the-ordinary thing. Both are signs of respect or, at the minimum, proper social skills. No one wins a prize for that. It comes along with being a decent human being.

But, it’s a step in the right direction. It’s hard for me to even admit how annoying it is for others. I cringe while reading comments on how rude chronically late behavior is. I don’t want to be that person. But I also have an abundant supply of reasons to be late- valid ones. With nine kids, there’s always something slowing me down.

When Reality Hits Like a Brick

I try to be on time, or at least I thought I did. I was sure that I wasn’t really at fault, but, alas, my thoughts betrayed me.

--

--

Adrienne Koziol
Ascent Publication

If I felt more creative, I'd figure out a way to use up 160 words describing my life as a wife, mom, editor, and writer.