Take A Moment To Remember

Tia Parker
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readDec 20, 2017

Sometimes we just need to be reminded…..

I’m here to tap you on the shoulder to bring a few things back to remembrance for you.

Remember why you started the journey.
Remember why you stopped going down the path you were previously on…
Remember who was there for you when those you expected to be there for you left….
Remember your life is not a mistake.. You are not just a blurb in time. You were purposely created by the master creator, designed by God to impact your sphere of influence.
Remember you do have a sphere of influence. There are people who are assigned to your life, and they need exactly what you have.
Remember you have seen the worse you thought you could see, and you made it out ALIVE! So whatever you are facing right now is NOT going to overtake you!
Remember you are an individual and not a carbon copy of anyone.
Remember you have a voice.
Remember you have a community of people who love you.
Remember you are never alone.
Remember you are great and destined for even more greatness.
Remember you are forgiven.
Remember your purpose is bigger than you.
Remember life is about giving, closed fists cannot give or receive.
Remember you woke up this morning, so that means purpose is still chasing you.
Remember how far you have come.
Remember to rest your body.
Remember to treat yourself.
Remember to love on YOURSELF!
Remember to appreciate the “little things” in life.
Remember to take your time, don’t rush your life.
Remember why you said “I’ll never go back to that”.
Remember what you deserve.
Remember how far you have come, and give yourself credit for the journey!

Too often we repeat cycles because we don’t do one simple thing, we don’t remember.

We fail to repeat to ourselves what took place in the past. History repeats itself when we fail to rehearse what happened.

If you are in a bad place right now, just recall what happened for you the last time you were in a tough spot. It worked out for your good didn’t it?

Take solace in that truth. Learn from this tough spot just like you learned from your last tough spot, and grow.

Your last tough place prepared you for this tough place, you can handle it. the awesome truth you are fully aware of is, it’ll be OVER sooner than later. Remember the last tough spot had an expiration date.

Remember the last time you allowed a person in your life with those characteristics, it did not end well. You have already learned your lesson, keep moving. Don’t give that person the time or space.

Time is your highest commodity, you cannot get it back at all, use it wisely. Do not waste time repeating a cycle you should have learned from.

We are approaching a new year and we have all sorts of plans for our future. Lets promise ourselves beginning TODAY we will NOT repeat any negative cycles. If we repeat the negative cycles of this year or previous ones, we will never see our plans come to fruition.

Last December a huge distraction came my way, and it nearly devastated not just my 2017, but my life. This December another potential lethal distraction appeared that looked a lot like the previous one. I saw it for what it was, reminded myself of what took place this year, and ended it before it began.

Although I made an ill decision that caused me to waste massive amounts of time this year, I learned so much from the experience. I learned a lot about myself and even more about people. People will do to us only what we tolerate, and we cannot get angry with them when they are repeat offenders in our lives. The only way a person becomes a repeat offender with you, is if you allow them to stay in your space after the initial offense.

I’m going to do myself a favor and REMEMBER what my heart felt like the moment I allowed someone to stay in my life past the first offense, I felt crushed. Yet I still allowed them back in my space.

I was not using wisdom.

Sometimes wisdom only gives one chance, and that’s okay. Wisdom can be harsh at times, allow wisdom to do her thing in your life. Wisdom will protect you from pain you know not of.

I am not saying people should not or will not disappointment you, they will, we are not perfect.

What I am saying is a disappointment and an offense are two separate things.

When you lie to me it’s not a simple disappointment, it’s an offense.

If you arrived to our meeting place late, or if you made a simple mistake, that’s a disappointment.

If I am consistently there for you and you are never there for me, that’s an offense.

Offenses are not to be overlooked, they need to be made clear, and they are cause for a separation.

Forgive the offender, don’t hold on to the hurt, but please by all means do NOT allow them back in your life to offend you again.

Friend, offenders have huge character flaws, and character flaws take a very long time to iron out. Remember time is your highest commodity, you cannot get it back. Do you have years to wait? I know I don’t. Not another moment of my time will be spent in the presence of people who don’t have my best interest at heart. I pray you do the same.

Moving forward I want us to be remained of our victories and defeats, recognizing both have cultivated us and made us into the people we are today.

The defeats and ill decisions did not feel good when we were experiencing them, but they taught us what no victory ever could. They helped us to build character. Talent, education, connections and money can get you in the door, but a great character will keep you there.

Look back on your life and remember how far you’ve come. Look forward and see how much further you want to go. Now look inside of you and see how God has blessed you with what you need to obtain all this life has to offer you.

Remember you are loved by the Creator of the universe!

I am praying for you!

--

--

Tia Parker
Ascent Publication

I am a Baltimore native, mother of one son, a poet, an encourager and a lover of people! Welcome to The Passionate Pursuit of Wisdom!