Teaching Myself How to Learn

My Journey to be a great learner

Cassandra
Ascent Publication
4 min readNov 14, 2016

--

Learning is one of life’s most important skills. It is defined by the Oxford Dictionary as the acquisition of knowledge or skills through study, experience, or being taught. Learning is something I personally struggled with until I understood that it is a process, a process that needs to be tailored to fit your unique style in order to meet your needs. Hopefully this post will shed light on how you can begin your journey in becoming a great learner.

Source: https://www.brainscape.com/blog/2011/08/your-learning-style/

Understanding your learning style

I thank God for the day my chemistry teacher decided to deliver a lesson on learning styles, it was the day that changed my approach to learning. She ran through the different ways in which people can learn and explained that we are all different. At that time I was failing my A-Levels miserably all because I didn’t know how to learn (slightly also due to the fact that I had little interest in my chosen subjects).

Once I left that lesson I began exploring my learning style, and discovered that I was a visual, aural and solitary learner. I quickly went from spending the majority of my time in group revision sessions and using chemistry molecular modelling kits, to retreating to a quiet study space in the library and drawing countless amounts of colourful molecules on posters. I managed to boost my Biology grade from an E to a C within a short amount of time. Although the change came a little too late for A-Levels, I continued to apply my new learning techniques while in university which helped me graduate with the highest grade on my course, alongside achieving an award for my dissertation. However, I must note that I also decided to be normal and study subject that actually interested me rather than my parents.

Please don’t read this article and decide to leave your revision WhatsApp group, spend the whole night going crazy with sharpies while creating posters and turning your notes in to songs. This will not help you if you are not a visual, aural and solitary learner. It is important to note that everyone is different. This means that whilst teaching yourself how to learn you must consider your own unique learning style. This refers to the way you prefer to receive information, not Sarah or Kofi. This is about you.

Source: https://www.brainscape.com/blog/2011/08/your-learning-style/

There are 7 different types of learning styles. Of course, it is possible to have only one learning style that suits you, but it is more than likely that you will be like me and have a learning style that combines 2 or 3 styles together.

Visual: These learners prefer using pictures, images, diagrams, colours, mind maps and spatial understanding.

Physical: These learners prefer to learn by using their body and sense of touch to assist their learning. They learn by drawing diagrams, using physical objects, or role playing.

Aural: These people prefer using sound, rhythms, music, recording, clever rhymes and

Verbal: These learners prefer using words, in both speech and writing. They utilise word based techniques, scripting and reading aloud.

Logical: These learners prefer using logic and reasoning to explain or understand concepts.

Social: Theses learners enjoy learning in groups or with other people and try to work with other people as much as possible.

Solitary: These learners prefer learning alone and through self study.

I encourage you to explore different learning techniques, note the ones you feel work best for you and continue to apply them in any learning opportunity you find yourself in.

Three Habits of Great Learners

The next step to mastering the art of learning is to cultivate habits that will help you to become a great learner. A podcast on Developer Tea by Jonathan Cutrell describes three habits of great learners which I completely agree with and have committed myself to adopting.

Source: https://overcast.fm/+EAXXHB1LM

1) Take notes

Great learners take notes … on cheap paper.

It is impossible to remember everything that you hear, therefore taking notes is a great idea.

I buy “semi-cheap” paper and I often find myself hesitating on ripping out rubbish notes, while thinking of ways to make the notes work, then eventually ripping it out and starting again. By taking notes on cheap paper the idea is you avoid the conversation with yourself about how to make absolute rubbish notes work, and spend more time making great notes. But again, everyone is different so whether you prefer taking digital notes or writing notes on “expensive” or “cheap” paper, do what is best for you.

2) Dissect systems

Great learners see obstacles as great opportunity to learn.

This is a habit that I am currently attempting to adopt. Instead of becoming frustrated at obstacles that I may face, I am trying to use them as opportunities to learn and develop my knowledge.

3) Teach what they have learnt

Great learners jump at opportunities to teach others what they have learnt. The process of teaching is also the process of learning.

This is something I learnt whilst in Uni. I found that whenever I took opportunities to explain things to my peers I left the conversation feeling reassured in the subject.

What’s next?

There are many other habits that great learners posses, it is just a matter of researching. I encourage you to take control of your learning and begin your own journey in learning how to learn.

--

--