Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

Tell Me 10 Interesting Facts About Yourself and I’ll Tell You Why It’s Worth Your Time

Jason Gutierrez
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readJan 30, 2020

--

“Ok everybody. Icebreaker time. We’ll start over here and work our way around the room. Each person please introduce and share one interesting fact about yourself.”

I could feel my jaw tighten and hands start to clam-up as soon as she said those words. I was 24 at the time and sitting through the front-end of a week-long Introduction to Leadership training, courtesy of the company I used to work for.

Everybody else in the class appeared to be at least 35+, and I guarantee none of them were the least bit nervous about sharing some stupid, interesting snippet about themselves.

I, on the other hand, was a nervous wreck. I legit couldn’t think of one interesting fact about myself worth sharing with the group, let alone one not worth sharing.

I’m pretty sure I ended up saying that I was an avid Pittsburgh Steelers fan…as was most everyone in the room…because we were all from Pittsburgh. I felt like an ass.

But now, I dedicated some time to pulling together a handful of what I thought are interesting facts about myself.

Yeah that’s right. I’ve got a big, whopping list of 10 things ready to share when called upon again.

--

--

Jason Gutierrez
Ascent Publication

Engineer. Papa. I share short essays and stories on careers, life, and the creative process 🖊: https://parttimewriting.beehiiv.com/subscribe