TGIF — Thank Goodness It’s February

Lee Chaix McDonough
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2018

Yep, you read that right.

Thank goodness it’s February.

Now to be honest, I didn’t always feel that way about February. In fact, up until recently, it’s been my least favorite month. It’s cold, it’s gloomy, it has one of the most overhyped, commercialized holidays ever, and even though it’s the shortest month of the year, it feels like it drags on forever.

Ugh.

But that’s not even the worst part. The real reason I couldn’t stand February is because it always felt like such a let down on the heels of January and its fresh, inviting energy. January allowed me to turn the page, start anew, and be whatever or whomever I wanted to be. There was this electric energy to it, and I felt like I could do anything.

Then in February, reality would hit — hard. The weight of all of those unrealized promises and resolutions led to a shame spiral that would throw me off-course for the rest of winter.

But that didn’t happen this February. And I know why.

This year, I didn’t set any resolutions. It’s not that I didn’t set any goals — I did, and I’m already achieving them. But instead of focusing on the outcome of my goals, I focused on how I wanted to feel.

Joyful. Powerful. Limitless.

These three words are my totem words, and every decision, action, and plan is anchored in them. If something doesn’t make me feel joyful, powerful, and/or limitless, then I think long and hard before committing to it.

Now of course, there are things I have to do that don’t necessarily bring joy, power, or expansion. I’m in the midst of all of my tax prep and bookkeeping, and that doesn’t necessarily make me feel joyful, powerful, or limitless in the moment.

BUT! It’s a necessary part of being a business owner, and I LOVE my business! Getting to serve my clients powerfully brings me joy, having a well-run business makes me feel powerful, and knowing that my finances are in order frees me to create other things for my business. In the long run, even the mundane must-do tasks can help me feel the way I want to feel.

That’s why, for the first time ever, I’m excited for February. I’m already seeing the growth I envisioned for 2018, because I’m less focused on results and more focused on the experience. Plus, I know that January 1st is just a date on the calendar. While it can be the launching pad for greatness, it doesn’t have to be (it wasn’t for me in 2017). You have the ability to choose any day to be your new year.

Each day, each minute, each breath is our chance to start anew if we want. We don’t have to wait for a new week, or a new month, or a new year. Start today. Start now. The Universe will meet you where you are when you’re ready, no matter what month it is.

So thank goodness for February. And March. And August. And October. Thank goodness for every month, day, and minute, because each is an opportunity to decide who we are, how we want to feel, and what we’ll do to bring forth those feelings.

Every day, I commit to feeling joyful, powerful, and limitless. What will you commit to today?

Seeking a little clarity in your business? Download my free guide to Mindfulness for Entrepreneurs!

--

--

Lee Chaix McDonough
Ascent Publication

Helping entrepreneurs sync who they are with what they do, so that they can build successful businesses and fulfilling lives. https://www.caravelcoaching.com.