The 3 Rare Quotes that Lift Me Up Every Time I Feel Low

Happiness is a direct side-effect of finding meaning.

Neeramitra Reddy
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readMay 19, 2021

--

I have a love-hate relationship with quotes. I hate the cliche ones that are all over the internet but love the rare diamonds that I occasionally stumble upon.

You know, the kinds that aren’t just romantic “feel goodies” but nuggets of actual wisdom. Of these, there are 3 quotes that I have really come to love and turn to in times of distress.

These quotes don't offer empty consolatory words but rather better perspectives and deep insights to deal with lows.

They’ve always succeeded in making me feel better and I hope they do the same for you.

The One Thing that Is Always in Our Control

“Everything can be taken from a man but one thing: the last of the human freedoms — to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way.”

Viktor Frankl

A couple of days back, I lost my grandfather to COVID-19. The grief and shock of seeing him as a corpse when he had been as agile as a kid just a few days back cannot be…

--

--