The Best Things Go Unnoticed

Matthew Hartill
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readSep 13, 2016

While walking around Manhattan, my friend and I were hating on a TV show. The show had a track record of being absolutely hilarious. Yet recently, it took a turn for the worst. At first, we couldn’t figure out why.

We analyzed each part, from the writing, to the acting, to the delivery.

Once we pinpointed a few problems, I realized something else. When you do something poorly, it sticks out. But when you truly master your craft, what you do seems effortless. Few people even notice what you’re doing.

Let’s get a little bit more specific. I’ve been a huge fan of Broad City. The first two seasons absolutely kicked ass. The plots were often incoherent. The jokes were lewd and unprecedented. Nevertheless, it was so well done that I didn’t think about it much; I was too enamored with how much I was laughing.

Eventually however, the magic ran out. Episode 5 of Season 3, “Hello, Hillary” was an abrupt disappointment. The episode stumbled over itself to make the former Secretary of State look competent, down to earth, and funny all at once. Yet something felt wrong. Did they think Hillary’s star power would carry the episode? Did they sacrifice comedy for the sake of a more important political statement? Either way, it felt like the writers sold out their talent.

Maybe I’m just a grumpy, radical and conspiracy theorist. I’m okay with that.

As you may know from my past posts, I try to draw lessons out of just about everything. In my daily journal, I come up with a “lesson” for the day. So what does me hate-writing about Broad City matter?

For creatives and self-starters, it’s a good reminder to keep chugging along. Many people get up every day to create, experiment, and do something that makes them come alive. No matter how fulfilling the task is in itself, it can be frustrating when you don’t get recognition. Everybody can benefit from feedback. But don’t assume the absence of feedback is bad feedback.

If you’re doing something every day and it makes you feel good you’re on the right track. Don’t let doubt win over. In fact, you’re probably doing just fine.

If you were really that bad, people would notice.

If you like what you read, give that ❤ a little tap.

--

--

Matthew Hartill
Ascent Publication

Optimization @SumoMe. Addicted to travelin’, climbin’ rocks, drinkin’ coffee &&& doing whatever I can to grow the best online businesses. (https://sumo.com/)