The Moment I Realized I Didn’t Have to Work to Live Like a Millionaire

What Made Me Decide That I Could Become A Millionaire One Day

Orion Silverstone
Ascent Publication
6 min readOct 1, 2020

--

Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

What Brings You Happiness?

We all want to live our lives doing whatever we love to do. However, that is rarely the case. With school, work, bills to pay, and so on, we are not able to do the things that make us happy. Sometimes, we are lucky to even have a job that we enjoy doing. But even that is not enough to make us happy. So, my question to you is, what do you want to achieve for you to live the rest of your lives happily. Is it, getting married to the person of our dreams, or earning tons of money without even lifting a finger, or even just peacefully living in a house on your own in the Swiss Alps.

We all have a different idea of happiness and it does not matter if someone judges us for the things that bring us happiness. At the end of the day, we own our lives and the things we do with it. Start thinking now about what you want to achieve in life, and make a clear plan in how you are going to achieve those goals.

What Made Me Decide That I Could Become A Millionaire One Day

Everyone can hope to become rich someday. But not everyone actually fulfills it. Just like the saying, ‘easier said than done’, it is easy to tell someone that you want to become rich and how you are going to do it, but it’s not easy when you eventually put one foot forward to begin that journey. I decided that I was not going to live the rest of my life doing a job that I did not like and work for an employer that I did not want to work for just for the sake of money.

Before you guys start thinking that I just immediately resigned from my job and magically turned rich, I am going to tell you that did not happen. I knew making any rash decisions at that point was not going to lead me anywhere in life especially anywhere near what I had planned to achieve.

What I Was Doing in Order for Me to Achieve My Dream

So, what did I do you ask.

Simple, first I did not quit my job. The most important thing to understand is that to eventually reach success, you have to first sacrifice. Quitting my job was going to give me peace, but nothing else. My job was my only source of income at that time and knowing that the only way I could focus on my goals was eliminating the other distractions in the way of it like housing bills, purchasing groceries, car and health insurance.

Now with all that appropriately handled with, I was able to next come up with a plan on how I was going to become rich whilst still enjoying my life. The problem was that I was not able to come up with a plan to achieve this. It took me at least a week and a half, to come up with ideas and another week to eventually settle on a few.

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Now, About The Methods I Used To Become Rich

In my plan, I had to come up with different ways of creating income for me to be able to one day resign from my current job. It is essential to understand that the only way to become rich without having a job is by having other forms of income sources. So, I decided that the best form of income that I could earn from if I did not want to have a job was through passive income sources. If you guys are wondering what passive income actually is.

Passive income is a type of income source that does not require you to do anything to it for you to constantly earn revenue from it. That does not mean money magically comes flying to your front door, it just means that you have already created a platform for you to generate revenue at the start so that down the road you do not have to do anything to it to continuously earn money from it.

And what is the best of passive income you ask?

Well, it is the Internet. The Internet is filled with hundreds of different ways for you to earn some passive income. It is about you finding what is/are the best ways for you to earn money. In my case, I realized that I was good at designing. This was something I was good, not amazing at but good enough that I thought I could pursue something with it. So, I started researching and looking for opportunities that I could seize to help me earn some money whilst doing what I like.

Then I thought, maybe I could actually use social media platforms to showcase my designs to others. Hence, I started both an Instagram and a Pinterest account which I used to exhibit my creativity to others. Although at that time I thought it was a great idea, I soon realized that not many people really cared about my designs if it was not going to provide them with actual benefits. Not saying that the designs were bad, but it was that I was not able to provide them much insights or benefits to their everyday lives through my designs.

The Changes I Made…

I started to think about how I could create works that could ideally benefit people and have something for them to look forward to every day. That’s when I got the idea for designing posters of different places around the world that people might not have traveled to and write reviews on those posts about how tourists felt those places were as holiday destinations. I soon realized that people were interested in such reviews as they prefer to find out more about their holiday destinations before deciding on where they would like to travel to.

Photo by Mark Boss on Unsplash

As time went by, my posts and pins gained more and more followers. People even reached out to me through direct messages on which locations I would recommend them to visit. Some might even ask me specific things like which locations are best for relaxation or have a great night-life or places that get them away from the cold weather. As more and more people reached out to me, they started to recognize me as a trusting source for such information. This then led to them recommending me to their friends and relatives and those people conversing with me about how a certain friend or family member recommended me to them.

This went on for months and months till one day I decided that I could actually create my own website, on which I could talk more in-depth about the reviews that I was posting on Instagram and Pinterest and also use that as a source of income. Now, after just about half a year since I first created my website, I am continually driving traffic to it on a daily basis and even earning a decent amount daily through ad. revenues as well as promoting products that are relevant to my reviews.

Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

At the end of this, I just want to send a message to people who are trying or have been trying to earn a living through online platforms that it is possible if you spend the necessary time and effort on it. It will be difficult at the start, but as time goes on you will soon realize that the most important part of this whole journey is the starting point which I like to call the foundation to online success. Thus, through this, I hope that you are able to learn that anyone can be successful if they have a plan and understand how to execute that plan to succeed.

--

--

Orion Silverstone
Ascent Publication

Healthy does NOT mean starving yourself. Healthy means eating the right food in the right amount