The Only Diet You’ll Ever Need to Get the Results You Crave

Crystal Jackson
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readNov 21, 2018

--

Photo by alan KO on Unsplash

I was hiking through the woods when the thought hit me. To be honest, it was more like I was lost in the woods, although I was on a clearly marked trail in a state park with a map in my hand. The map made no sense to me, but other things began to become clear as I gave up on ever finding my way back to the parking lot and surrendered to my thoughts and my surroundings.

The thought that hit me starkly is that I’m a little more preoccupied with my physical body than I would like to admit. Even in the forest, virtually alone, I was wondering if the racer-back tank I was wearing was showing my belly squish from the fact that I have stretchmarks, two kids, and a few pounds more than I used to. No one could see me, and yet I was hiking through a forest- nearly two hours into a pretty solid hike- wondering if my body was acceptable according to some kind of societal standard.

I found myself evaluating my squishy parts, trying to hold it in, as if the trees give a damn about if I look high school skinny or not. It was strange to be completely alone and still actually care if a shirt I was wearing made me look fat. It wasn’t just strange; it was incredibly disturbing. I have good self-esteem, right? I like how I look. Don’t I?

--

--