‘The Power of One’ for Writers

One person — one article can change a life.

David B. Grinberg 🇺🇸
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

As a gawky teenager I was saddled with low self-esteem, high anxiety and little self-confidence. The good news is my situation changed for the better through writing.

But writing was not a natural talent I discovered until one person changed my outlook. That’s when “The Power of One” principle first impacted me. There was one special high school teacher who saw a flash of talent in me that I didn’t see myself.

In hindsight, this educator had a profound impact on my career trajectory.

It was during an English literature class when one high school teacher helped me realize my potential as a budding writer.

The class involved reading famous novels and writing essays analyzing them. This was the first time any teacher had given me straight ‘A’ grades for any subject.

This epiphany led me to write for the high school newspaper and take an advanced class in journalism, both of which further sharpened my skills. The more I wrote the more my self-esteem improved, my anxiety faded and my self-confidence grew.

In essence, that one English class and one teacher served as a springboard to decades of writing.

--

--

David B. Grinberg 🇺🇸
Ascent Publication

Lifelong writer, former federal government spokesman and White House political appointee. I cover a range of U.S. political and public policy issues.