“Fitness” Advice

The Reverse-Step-Count Challenge: How to Win at Being Lazy

You will regret nothing about keeping it below 250.

Jenny Mundy-Castle
Ascent Publication
Published in
7 min readAug 3, 2021

--

Photo by Graychr on Flickr

Every so often I get to a place where I literally don’t want to hassle with getting out of bed. Or getting dressed. Brushing my teeth is a Herculean feat and the idea of walking to the bathroom to fill my water is so monumentally distressing, I push the very image of doing so aside.

This kinda looks like, and occasionally feels like, depression. Considering “tiredness and lack of energy,” and a sense that, “even small tasks take extra effort,” among other symptoms, are real signs of this, you wouldn’t be wrong in sharing that concern during times you, too, may experience a profound sense of exhaustion. Even physical symptoms, like back pain and fatigue, abound during these bouts.

It’s not depression that makes me want to keep my step count below 1,000 for a day, though. I realize the number mentioned above is 250, but that’s just a goal, really, one I have yet to achieve. What makes me want to step as little as possible has to do with some terrifying statistics about work-life balance in the United States, and how it compares with other industrialized countries.

--

--

Jenny Mundy-Castle
Ascent Publication

Jenny Mundy-Castle is the author of Every Time I Didn’t Say No, her memoir inspired by educating high-trauma youth in New York, New Mexico, and Nigeria.