The Sad, Strange and Sneaky World of Private Investigation

Why it sucks to be a private dick

Marc Oakley
Ascent Publication

--

Photo courtesy of Libreshot

From Magnum P.I.’s impeccably tropical 'stache to Sherlock Holmes’ cerebral sleuthing, the allure of private investigation has been a mainstay of popular culture since the 1840s.

And in the real world, private eyes are everywhere. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, there were 36,200 private detectives and investigators employed in the United States in 2019. But private investigators aren’t limited to the U.S.; The World Association of Detectives (W.A.D), founded in 1921, represents members across the globe, from Guadeloupe to Vietnam.

So when I was given the opportunity to actually enter this murky and mysterious world myself, I jumped at it. The pay was terrible. In fact, it was shit. But I was between jobs and this wasn’t just another gig.

Behind the tinted windows of a nondescript expanse of suburban offices, my new crime-fighting headquarters awaited.

My friend, who we’ll call “Jill”, had recently been hired by the firm and was kind enough to put in a good word for me.

With a tinge of disappointment I learned that the position didn’t require me to physically stake out…

--

--

Marc Oakley
Ascent Publication

Shepherd of words. Wrangler of turds. Toddler survivor. Writer for #The Ascent and #The Riff. Ambassador of Hope at THE WALLOBOOKS PROJECT. marcoakley.com