The Struggle Is My Drug Of Choice

Brandon Barnett
Ascent Publication
Published in
1 min readJun 15, 2016
Left Of Nashville World Headquarters, Medon, Tn (Don’t be jelly)

I ask women out on dates and get rejected. Sometimes I’m ignored.

I send my music to publishers/decision makers and get rejected. Sometimes I’m ignored.

I ask people to be on Left Of Nashville and get rejected. Sometimes I’m ignored.

I try to make friends and get rejected. Sometimes I’m ignored.

But other times, I’m not rejected. And I’m not ignored.

And in those other times, the rush is huge. The struggle makes me appreciate the wins. And it also makes me stronger. It causes me to be a better man/musician/podcaster. The rejections might be more important than the successes.

The struggle is my drug of choice.

http://leftofnashville.com

Brandon Barnett is a singer-songwriter from Jackson, Tennessee. He is also the creator of Left Of Nashville, a documentary podcast highlighting the ups and downs in attempting to have a career in music. @leftofnashville on Twitter and Instagram.

--

--