The Struggle Is Real: Here’s How to Keep Your Dreams Alive

What to do when swords rain down from the sky and life comes at you in the realest of ways

Steve Campbell
Ascent Publication

--

Artwork: Tithi Luadthong

“Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the face.”— Mike Tyson

I had a plan once. It was sometime in March 2017.

I was living in Hoboken at the time, commuting across the river to my agency job in NYC. My girlfriend, Melissa (who I met at work), had relocated to a satellite office in Denver just a few months prior. Our plan was to do the long-distance thing and then move in together halfway across the country.

At the time, The Ascent was just a side project of mine I managed to find time for in the evenings. I didn’t quite have a plan for it yet but it was starting to gain traction, which excited me.

Anyway, I knew I wanted to move so went ahead and scheduled time with our CEO to discuss my options. You know him as Garyvee. I’d been a huge advocate of his over the years and figured if there was any way I could “have my cake and eat it too,” he was the guy with whom I should speak.

During our chat, I told him I was following my heart to Denver and asked if it would be possible to stay with the company. He was honest…

--

--

Steve Campbell
Ascent Publication

Aspiring author. Editor-in-Chief of the Ascent Publication. Out to help you share your voice, document your journey, and discover the path to a happier you.