The Surprising Truth About Using Travel To Escape Your Problems

Austin Dean
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2018

I struggled to see the road through the torrential downpour. The grey skies painted a dull backdrop for my eight hour drive from San Diego to Sacramento, CA. I finished my undergraduate career at San Diego State University two days earlier.

It was December 15, 2016. Like millions of other recent graduates, I decided to move back home with my parents. Returning to the nest had its financial rewards, like a 90% reduction of living expenses. But, it also had an insidious dark-side I wasn’t prepared for.

After one month, it set in: restlessness.

It was subtle at first.

I’d wake up, go through my morning routine, and get to work (an online business paid my income each month). The work challenged me to dream up creative solutions to unique problems. I set my own schedule, ate healthy food, and worked out every day. On paper, life was great.

But, when my head hit the pillow each night, I felt something missing from my soul. I craved more meaning, fulfillment, and experience. A feeling of detached boredom crept into my work. Anxiety plagued my thoughts during my free time.

Everything suffered: my attitude, job performance, and physical health. After four months of deterioration, I decided I had had enough.

At a local Starbucks (which also functioned as my mini-escape from home), I set my plan in motion. I bought a plane ticket to Budapest, Hungary and booked a one-month stay in an Airbnb.

On May 8, 2017, I left.

The first ten days were invigorating. I felt re-energized. New faces, challenges, and environments filled me with excitement. My whole body felt revived, like I had drank a strong cup of coffee after months of caffeine deprivation.

As the saying goes, “all good things come to an end.”

I settled into my new life in this strange and beautiful Eastern European city. Life was the same, more or less: work, eat healthy, go to the gym. My environment was the only difference.

And one night, I felt it: restlessness.

The same cravings that haunted me in suburbia followed me across the Atlantic and haunted me here, too. Lying in bed, my hopelessness turned into frustration and anger: “I’m traveling, making money, and living a life others would kill for. Why do I still feel so unsatisfied?”

I couldn’t find an answer to this question, or to any of my other existential questions. So, I resigned and accepted defeat. I decided to ignore the pain and do my best to appreciate life.

The next morning, I woke up and walked to the coworking space.

Three new faces were there that day. They were younger guys, around my age. They looked like good friends, like they had traveled for a long time together.

One of them broke away from the group to get a coffee. I did the same.

“Hey man, where are you guys from?” I asked.

“We’re from Canada. You?”

“California. I know this is weird, but do you mind if I work with you guys?”

“Sure, I’ll introduce you. I’m Ryan.”

“Austin. Nice to meet you, Ryan.”

Ryan introduced me to Nick and Max. A few days later, I met their other friend, Matt. We worked together, ate together, and explored together.

Then, we moved in together.

From August to November, we lived in Medellin, Colombia. We worked, talked, explored, partied, experimented, adventured, and grew together for four months.

During this time, I noticed the restlessness I once felt had disappeared. Happiness, calmness, and ease replaced anxiety, nervousness, and depression.

This six month journey taught me a surprising truth: Travel won’t improve your life. Sure, it will enrich it — give you new experiences, opportunities, and perspectives.

But, it won’t solve your problems.

Community will improve your life. Surrounding yourself with friends who challenge and support you is a fundamental key to feeling joy, fulfillment, and purpose.

Life is hard enough, so why go through it alone?

Find your Ryan, Nick, Max, and Matt.

If you’ve already found them, great.

Connect or reconnect with them.

Now, if you’ll excuse me — it’s time to plan our next trip.

--

--

Austin Dean
Ascent Publication

Professional Dreamer, Amateur Writer | Founder of New Paradigm Performance | Lives in Bali | 1M+ views on Quora | 23 Years Naive