The Take-Action Token

How to find the balance between learning and doing

James Mulholland
Ascent Publication
2 min readJul 27, 2017

--

If I’ve got any free time, I’m usually listening to podcasts, catching up on Instapaper articles or reading a book. I hate having down-time where it feels as if I’m not learning anything useful and so I like to fill the little gaps between other activities with this ‘consumption-learning’.

However, I’ve recently found that there’s a limit to the amount of usefulness that this kind of learning affords you. You could consume an infinite amount of information about business/marketing/AI/[your area of interest] but, when it comes to having true knowledge, you’ll still fall short. The reason for this is that there is a distinction between knowing what and knowing how (ironically, something I learnt from a book). Without contextualising your knowledge in the appropriate way, it’s just a useless waste of space in your memory.

Furthermore, all this ‘learning’ can just end up serving as a form of procrastination. If your ultimate goal is to do X, then the only way you’re ever going to get there is by taking those first few steps. Reading/listening can help point you to what these steps might be, but beyond that it’s little more than a guide.

So in order to solve this problem of inaction, I came up with a little trick called the ‘take-action token’. First of all, you pick something to use as a currency. In my case, my ‘bank’ was in the app Tally but you could use a notepad, real pennies or whatever takes your fancy. Then, whenever you take an actionable step towards your goals, you earn a token. If, on the other hand, you partake in any consumption-learning then you have to spend one of your hard-earned tokens.

Busy earning.

So, if I listen to a podcast about how to build your audience, I have to balance that out with something useful (e.g. writing this article). It’s a small tweak to the way you think about learning, but it’s one that can start to shift the balance towards what’s really useful.

If you enjoyed this then make sure to give the article a 💚. You can also follow me on Twitter or at my website.

--

--

James Mulholland
Ascent Publication

Front-end developer & philosophy graduate. Writing to help people learn faster. Check out my design/code newsletter at https://copythat.io.