You Are Not a Bad Employee, You Are Burned Out

How to tell you have reached the point of burnout

Luay Rahil
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Luay Rahil, MBA

I remember when I worked at IHOP, I was always tired, exhausted, and annoyed. I would sleep ten hours every night, and I would still be drained.

I felt that my life was wasting away, and my work was unappreciated by management, customers, and family.

I had to dig deep every day to get enough energy to get out of bed so that I can pay my bills. Finally, I was able to pay my rent, but I was miserable at best.

Back then, I didn’t know that I was experiencing burnout. I only knew that I needed a new start, a new job, and new goals.

Have you felt this way? Have you felt that regardless of how much you rest, you still feel drained?

According to The American Institute of Stress, 75 % of employees believe that they are dealing with more stress than the generation who came before them, and 26% of workers said they were “often or very often “burned out” by their work.

So, if you are feeling stressed out or burned out, you are not alone.

What is burnout?

The World Health Organization identified burnout as an official occupational syndrome. It’s described as the result of chronic…

--

--

Luay Rahil
Ascent Publication

I write engaging content on business and leadership development.