This is not archaeology. It’s just digging. Photo by Dane Deaner on Unsplash

The Truth About Archaeology

A real archaeologist debunks myths and common assumptions

--

I’ve talked to the public a lot about archaeology. I’ve visited elementary school classrooms with hands-on dig kit activities. I’ve stood in booths at festivals and talked to people about artifacts. I’ve manned an archaeology bus and traveled to libraries and parks.

And what have I found? Nobody really knows what archaeologists do. Sure, people have seen some movies and might have read a National Geographic article or two. But by and large people are grossly misinformed.

Let’s correct that.

It may not seem like a big deal that most people’s understanding of archaeology largely comes from the Indiana Jones series. But this week I was reminded that it is extremely important. This week there was an article on the CBS new website about a man who dug up and collected artifacts his whole life. His home was eventually raided by the FBI.

I’m certainly not saying that every one is on this trajectory. What I am saying is that it is good to know the truth. Real archaeology isn’t grave robbing. Real archaeology isn’t gold lust. So what is it?

Real Archaeology

Let’s tackle the myths of archaeology by looking at a typical conversation I have when I meet someone new.

“You’re an archaeologist? That’s awesome! That’s what I wanted to be when I as a kid.”

Thanks! But I hate to tell you, the archaeologist you probably dreamed of being as a kid doesn’t really exist. But the work is still pretty interesting!

“Yeah, I imagine being treasure hunter is really interesting. Do archaeologists get to keep the artifacts they find?”

No, that’s actually unethical.

This is not a real archaeologist. Fedoras can be deceiving. Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

“Can you sell the artifacts? I’ve seen some pretty cool stuff for sale online.”

No, that’s unethical too. We don’t keep or sell them.

In fact archaeologists adhere to strict codes and standards which state that artifacts end up in a proper repository for storage. And there are federal laws that make sure that Native American tribes get back artifacts that belong to them.

And it’s not just eBay. Remember how ISIS looted and sold artifacts to fund their war? And how international organized crime has profited from it? It’s shocking but buying and selling artifacts contributes to global problems with looting heritage sites.

Not an artifact. I know, it looks like it was smoothed on one side. But trust me, it’s just a rock. Photo by Simon Schmitt on Unsplash

“I’ve seen a lot of pots and arrowheads in museums. And my grandpa has a bunch of arrowheads he collected from the State Park near his house. He has a big box of them in his garage.”

Yikes! Sorry to be a such a bummer, but you should tell your grandpa that it’s illegal to collect artifacts on state and federal land. Basically anywhere except your own yard. I’m sure he didn’t know that, but it would be good to tell him since there are fines involved!

Maybe we can turn the conversation around. What are some of your favorite places to visit and learn about archaeology?

“I went to the Grand Canyon once. It was amazing. I bet you guys love that place.”

Why?

“Because of all the cool rocks.”

That’s actually geology.

This is not archaeology. Photo by Adam Muise on Unsplash

“But I bet you dig up a lot of cool dinosaur bones out there.”

Actually, you have that mixed up too. Paleontologists dig up fossils, like dinosaur bones. Archaeologists study past people and cultures.

“Oh I see. What’s the coolest thing you’ve ever dug up?”

Well I study animal bones — animals that people have eaten, or bones they have used to make tools. So the coolest thing I have dug up was probably when I dug up some shell beads, or the time I found deer jaw bones at the bottom of a pit.

What people assume archaeologists always find. Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

“Oh that’s, um…. cool. Have you always been interested in deer bones?”

Actually, for my graduate thesis I wrote about cow teeth in Southeast Asia.

“Why would anyone care about that?”

A lot of reasons! You could track changes in the past environment and you could also track trade routes through the region. The cow bones I looked at were from an Angkor site in Cambodia.

“Awesome! You must get to travel a lot for your work, and excavate all over the world.”

Actually, the bones I studied were from a museum collection. I didn’t actually get to go to Cambodia.

How people imagine archaeologist find sites. Photo by N. on Unsplash

“You know, I’ve seen all of the Indiana Jones movies. Is any of that true?”

We do come across snakes in the field sometimes.

“But Professor Jones was a university professor. I bet that part is true to life.”

Yes, there are plenty of archaeologists teaching at universities. But you may be surprised to find out that the majority of archaeology getting done in the U.S. is actually through Cultural Resource Management.

“Cultural… huh? What’s that?”

It’s a system designed to evaluate, protect, and manage a variety of cultural heritage properties, sites, and landscapes.

“What does that look like in real life?”

Okay, well a good example is a new highway that is being built. Or a new shopping center that’s getting developed. Before that can happen the laws in the U.S. say that we have to make sure nothing important is destroyed in the process. So there are biologists that survey the area to make sure they aren’t going to destroy a wetland habitat. And archaeologists go and make sure there aren’t sites. If there are, then we make recommendations. It’s a lot of consultation work.

“Huh. I never knew that. Doesn’t sound like you guys probably get paid very well.”

That’s true. CRM isn’t a high-paying industry.

“Well, my daughter has been interested in being an archaeologist and digging up dinosaur bones for a long time. Haven’t you, honey?”

Photo by frank mckenna on Unsplash

Oh yeah? That’s awesome. Do you know what’s so great about being an archaeologist? You get to dig in the DIRT! All the time! And sometimes you get to stay in hotels that have a free breakfast buffet with all those mini chocolate muffins!

And you get to feel like you are adding value to society by protecting the past. And I know that doesn’t mean much to you now, little girl, but lots of adults go to work every day, sit at their desks, and question their choices. They wonder what legacy they are leaving. They don’t feel like what they do really matters.

But archaeologists don’t feel that way! We can look around us and see our legacy in all the historic buildings that don’t get demolished but get made into a hip cultural district instead. And all the artifacts that get their stories told in museums.

We know that our work matters when kids get excited about history. Or when someone respects a culture that is different from their own because they recognize a common humanity.

We don’t have dinosaurs.

We don’t often see our research celebrated.

We don’t have giant paychecks.

But we know what we do is important. And that’s real archaeology.

--

--

Teresa Ingalls
Ascent Publication

Archaeologist by training. Interested in digital transformation in business. Obsessively curious.