The Value of Volunteering Goes Beyond What You Can See at the Time

Mr. Francis Esq.
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readSep 25, 2019

--

I’m ashamed to admit it.

I thought volunteering was beneath me.

To my arrogant mind, it was something people did when they couldn’t find a job.

If you had real skills and real talent, you didn’t volunteer.

Why would you?

People should get paid for their expertise, their knowledge.

Giving it away cheapens you and your skillsets.

Thank-God I found out what an idiot I was before it was too late.

Photo by: Mr. Francis

I volunteered when I moved to The Bahamas.

The kindness of the people on these islands propelled in me a sense of wanting to give back.

There was an unyielding urge to share something I passionately loved and knew a lot about with my new neighbours.

Ever since my mom and dad took me to see a silent Charlie Chaplin film as a young boy of seven, I’ve been enamoured with the medium of cinema and the transformative power it has over us.

--

--

Mr. Francis Esq.
Ascent Publication

Mr. Francis Esq. hails from parts unknown of the Empire. And has just published his frightfully entertaining gift book — How Not To: Survive A Pandemic.