There Is No Elevation, Without TURBULENCE

Fred•er•rick Jason
Ascent Publication
3 min readMay 27, 2016

--

If you have ever flown on a plane, you know that turbulence feels like death each time the plane hops. This is what it is like to run a startup, everyday. In business school, they don’t tell you company is about enduring turbulence for survival, just profitable quarters.

Help me. I am literally fighting for my life. My startup is trying, scratch that, is killing me.

What does this have to do with business? Dope question. Shit is fucked up. So? I decided I must help write myself and other entrepreneurs past unforeseeable challenges. Why?

Many startups are born in garages and live in cars well before landing office place. Well, some person broke into my automobile this week and stole my business. Seriously, everything [Mac, Squares, inventory, … the whole operation]. Then each of my team members quit without warning or regard. You keep going for a while, but desperation will kill you faster than a start up. What do you do after you give up?

Yes, this the anti-Facebook story. It happens everyday. But I’m not the only startup founder combating social-economic bullshit, past-past due bills, ‘team’ willing to quit, and a big ass revolutionary yet scalable dream.

You applied to those pitch competitions, finally got the nerve to email those big investors, went on the interviews, tried friends and family. Yet, no success? What do I see minority entrepreneurs get advised to do? Give up and get a job. How in the world is a little black boy from Georgia still change the world with no gadgets or resources? Or anyone else, for that matter? If Black lives don’t really mater, do black businesses have a chance??

This is what are founders and entrepreneurs are always thinking, but it that ability to detect BS that keeps you innovative.

“Relax, relax”, I recall Oprah saying, Observe the challenge, Now go a different way: A Better Way. And so I went.

Still unsure, I realized I missed one last pivotal aspect in the startup game, sharing all my embarrassment with the world. My hope is to write pain to bring about change for you. There is precious air above the storm and clouds.

Like you, I started my company to be happy, I didn’t realize it would require this much turbulence. I became a writer to say what I thought someone else should:

So I urge you, turbulence isn’t failure. It is only the air separating, allowing you to fly more freely.

Please Buckle Up,

X

Frederick Jason is an American writer and entrepreneur scheduled to launch two sock based startups this month. He currently is scouting dope mentors + advocates. #reachout

--

--

Fred•er•rick Jason
Ascent Publication

I’m A Business… Man! Lover of Socks, Tactician, Artist & Writer. [Founder @TheSockPorter + @PeriodQuestionX]