“If you can dream it, you can do it.” ~ Walt Disney | That’s me on the lecture circuit

There’s No Such Thing As Old Age

I’m the first 66-year-old guy to successfully walk 100,000 steps in one day

David Paul Kirkpatrick
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readDec 4, 2018

--

On Black Friday, rather than hitting the stores, I hit the road. I took the 100,000 Step Challenge. For charity and for myself, I walked 100,000 steps in one day.

I am 66 years old. I was the first human at 66 to successfully record the 100,000 steps in a single day. Of course, I am not the first to accomplish that feat, merely, the first human to claim it.

This was nice to see on my iphone

The bigger point is this — I did it. 100,000 steps, given my stride, is almost 42 miles. I am not an athlete. I like a shot of Vodka before dinner. I wish it was red wine, which is healthier, but it is not. Every once in a while, I will binge on Pringles or some other terrible, processed carbohydrate. And no matter what I do, I always seem to be carrying an extra ten pounds.

But here are six ingredients to the recipe of my current life, which I would like to share: 1) Daily meditation, 2) 80% plant-based diet, 3) staying physically active (I live on a farm), 4) 8 hours of sleep, 5) having purpose, 6) being intentional about the company I keep.

--

--

David Paul Kirkpatrick
Ascent Publication

Founder of Story Summit & MIT Center for Future Storytelling, Pres of Paramount Film Group, Production Chief of Disney Studios, optimist, author and teacher.